Linux Noob

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Raisedshoulder, Aug 24, 2006.

1. Raisedshoulder

Raisedshoulder Some Blode.

I want to start getting into linux more but I'm really not sure which distro to start with. Anyone know what distro would be best to use for a beginner?

2. kingtoad

kingtoad OT Supporter

Ubuntu I guess. :hsughno:

3. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

I suggest Fedora Core 5 for the complete noob. It's hella easy to install, comes with a gui and all sorts of stuff. I just recently tried Fedora and was most impressed. They've made the installation almost as easy as MS Windows and it recognizes all my hardware during the installation leaving me with a very well configured machine after install. Very, impressive.

After the install, I've added software and patched the distribution. Both were painless and almost trivial. I swear, Fedora is sooo much better then I ever remember RedHad being...it's a very good package.

I tried Ubuntu and it's not living up to the hype. It didn't recognize my MB nor my video card. People keep saying it's easy to patch and update but not if you don't know what you are doing. Everything is easy when you know how to do it.....Ubuntu is supposed to be so advanced but so far, it's been nothing but a pain in the ass for me.

I'm not the smartest Linux guy around but I'm not totally ignorant either. I also have a lot of persistence when confronted with computer problems. However, Ubuntu vs Fedora is IMO no contest....Fedora all the way!!

4. Raisedshoulder

Raisedshoulder Some Blode.

Ok thanks I'll install that sometime tomorrow and check Fedora out.

5. Coottie

Fedora Core 5 is a 6 ISO d/l, then you need to burn them to CDs then install. It's not hard but it does take some time. Also, burning an ISO image to CD is not the same as copying the ISO image then burning to the CD.

If you need an easy to install and use ISO program, check out this one: