linux mount points

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Muchacho_Gasolino, Feb 24, 2005.

  1. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    well i just got my ubuntu cds in the mail, and i think in a day or two im gonna set about formatting my hard drives and dumping my windows boot
    my question is, if i wanted to use my first hard drive for everything except anything under /home, and my second drive for everything under /home, how would i do that?
    i know i need to set the main one as / when creating partitions in the install, do i just set the other one as /home?
    also, does anyone have input on whether this is a smart setup or not? how do you guys with two hdds set them up?
    im planning on using my 80gb for / and my 120 for /home, i will be putting a thousand or so mp3s in /home/documents/music and a couple of games installed with cedega in there also
     
  2. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    During you installation it will prompt you what file systems you want on which disks/partitions.

    In your case

    /dev/hda1 will be for /
    /dev/hdb1 will be for /home

    I'd recommend

    /dev/hda1 /boot
    /dev/hda2 /
    /dev/hda3 /var
    /dev/hda4 swap
    /dev/hdb1 /home
    /dev/hdb2 swap

    That should be fine for any home system.
     
  3. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    That's pretty much what I run on mine without the second swap space.
     
  4. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    thanks dudes :bigthumb:
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: I keep mine a little simpler actually, just /boot, / and /home.
     
  6. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    Simple mount points is bad practice. There are directories that are known to fill up due to issues or bad file retention policies, lack there of actually. Two common ones are /var and whichever mount point has home directories, /usr/users, /export/home, /home, whatever. Sometime third party application directories are culprits, like /opt. Once these fill up if they were not on their own file system and are under /, depending on the OS and file system, the machine will crash and some open files may get corrupted. But for home usage, any config will do.

    UNIX and simple are oxymorons.
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Agreed. Out of control log files will fill up a file system in no time.

    Especialy when someone sets the log level on debug then the machine goes into production use and I (whoops "someone") forgets to set the log level back to normal. :o :o :o
     
  8. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    Guilty as charged.
     
  9. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Also my boxes are debian, and all the packages are cached in /var which usually isn't a big deal, but when installing something like xfree or a wm /var can get pretty big pretty easily. So instead of it taking up my main hdd space it's got it's own little piece to work with.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, I know. I've had 10 gig .Xsessionerrors files a couple times that really fucked with things. I'm the only user on this machine though, so for me it works pretty well. Besides, there's about 30 gigs remaining on my / drive and 96 gigs remaining on my /home drive, so I think I'll probably be OK :embd:
     

Share This Page