Linux Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by monolith, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    I am using Ubuntu 5.10 and I am still having some problems getting my wireless card working.

    Penguin Man helped me a lot and directed me to www.linuxquestions.org to get further help when we got stuck. A person on LQ.org helped me a lot and I finally got Ubuntu to "see" my wireless card but now the problem is I can't get a connection.

    Here is the thread over at LQ.org:

    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?s=&threadid=378221&perpage=15&pagenumber=1

    If you need more information and it isn't in the LQ thread just let me know.

    Thank you,
    Derik
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2005
  2. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Well you have the card working which is abou half the work right there
    Is the card turning off and on as it would normally?

    What does it say if anything when you do,

    Code:
    iwlist wlan0 scan
     
  3. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    This:

    Code:
    [SIZE=2][email protected]:~$ iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:90:4B:E4:F8:48
    ESSID:"wireless"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
    Quality:0/100 Signal level:-77 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:6 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:12 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:24 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:36 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    Cell 02 - Address: 00:0F:3D:3A:19:3A
    ESSID:"default"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:0/100 Signal level:-81 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
    Encryption key:off
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:6 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:12 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:24 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:36 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    Cell 03 - Address: 00:30:BD:C7:4A:AC
    ESSID:"DandJ"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
    Quality:0/100 Signal level:-53 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    
    [/SIZE]
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    So it can see two different networks.
     
  5. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Isn't it seeing three different networks?

    One:
    Code:
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:90:4B:E4:F8:48
    ESSID:"wireless"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
    Quality:0/100 Signal level:-77 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:6 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:12 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:24 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:36 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    
    Two:
    Code:
    Cell 02 - Address: 00:0F:3D:3A:19:3A
    ESSID:"default"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:0/100 Signal level:-81 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
    Encryption key:off
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:6 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:12 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:24 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:36 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    
    Three:
    Code:
    Cell 03 - Address: 00:30:BD:C7:4A:AC
    ESSID:"DandJ"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
    Quality:0/100 Signal level:-53 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    
    The third one is my network, the channel and ESSID are correct btw.
     
  6. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Help me...please.

    :wtc:
     
  7. rasactive

    rasactive New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Splurging on fanciness
    Try e-mailing the UCF linux users group http://www.lugatucf.org/ . Since you're probably close enough, you may find somebody who's willing to go to where you live and troubleshoot it with you, which is infinitely easier than trying to long-distance troubleshoot (and I'm sure it couldn't hurt to offer a beer or something as compensation :naughty:).
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yes. I just can't read./
     
  9. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    :rofl:

    Ok, so it's seeing my network then why can't it connect to it!?
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Have you tried assigning a static IP then pingning the router?
     
  11. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    I have done so much I don't even remember what I have tried. What are the steps/commands for that?
     
  12. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You should be able to do it from the networking control panel (in the System menu I believe). Just configure the wireless card to have an IP address like 192.168.1.2 and netmask 255.255.255.0, with gateway 192.168.1.1. Then on the commandline do ping 192.168.1.1 and see if it gets through.
     
  13. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    I wouldn't try and changing your network around just yet, but that's just me.

    So far so good, atleast your card is getting info.
    What type of encryption are you using?
    Currently ndiswrapper isn't supporting WPA, atleast I don't remember it supporting it, so you'd have to use WEP.
    Also make sure you're not mac filtering.

    Now as far as what you've got to do to connect the command should go like this.

    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid dandj key XXXXXXX
    Use the hex values for your key there. At this point you should be connecting and you're just a dhcclient away from being on.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2005
  14. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Oh, I am...is that a problem?
     
  15. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    it's only the problem if the mac adress on that card isn't allowed through on the router.
     
  16. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    I will disable the filtering later on tonight and I will let you guys know if it changes anything.
     
  17. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,372
    Likes Received:
    578
    And don't forget to do what Shaggy007 said.
    iwconfig wlan0 essid DandJ key XXXXXXX

    That sets your card to connect to that network.
     
  18. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ok, I turned off Mac address filtering and I tried to set my network up through DHCP which didn't work. So through the GUI I set it up for Static and this is what I got after I ran iwconfig:

    Code:
    [SIZE=2][email protected]:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.
    eth0 no wireless extensions.
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:17 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:56/154 Noise level:0/154
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:37 Missed beacon:0
    sit0 no wireless extensions.
    
    This is what I got after I ran ifconfig:

    Code:
    [SIZE=2]
    [email protected]:~$ ifconfig
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:4945 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4945 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:389796 (380.6 KiB) TX bytes:389796 (380.6 KiB)
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:28:B5:DF
    inet addr:192.168.2.51 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::213:10ff:fe28:b5df/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Memory:fe9fe000-fe9fe7ff
    [/SIZE]
    This is a screenshot of my Network Settings:

    [​IMG]


    Anyone see any problems? I am going to try Static again, I will let you know what happens.

    - Derik
    [/SIZE]
     
  19. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Result:

    Code:
    [SIZE=2][email protected]:~$ ifconfig
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2455 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2455 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:219235 (214.0 KiB) TX bytes:219235 (214.0 KiB)
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:28:B5:DF
    inet addr:192.168.2.51 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::213:10ff:fe28:b5df/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Memory:fe9fe000-fe9fe7ff
     
     
    [email protected]:~$ ping 192.168.2.1
    PING 192.168.2.1 (192.168.2.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.2.51 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.2.51 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.2.51 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    --- 192.168.2.1 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 3000ms
    , pipe 3
    [/SIZE]

     
  20. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,372
    Likes Received:
    578
    Ok, from the top, try these things:

    reboot
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig
    and post the results of iwconfig.
    then:

    iwconfig wlan0 essid "your essid" key blahblahblahblahblahblahblahblah
    dhclient wlan0

    then post the results of the following commands:

    iwconfig wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2005
  21. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Result:

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    Password:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    [email protected]:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.
    eth0 no wireless extensions.
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:17 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:56/154 Noise level:0/154
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:8 Missed beacon:0
    sit0 no wireless extensions.
    Result:

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo dhclient wlan0
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.2
    Copyright 2004 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/products/DHCP
    sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
    sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
    Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:13:10:28:b5:df
    Sending on LPF/wlan0/00:13:10:28:b5:df
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    After the iwconfig wlan0:
    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ iwconfig wlan0
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:17 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:56/154 Noise level:0/154
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:21 Missed beacon:0
    After the ifconfig wlan0:
    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ ifconfig wlan0
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:28:B5:DF
    inet6 addr: fe80::213:10ff:fe28:b5df/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Memory:fe9fe000-fe9fe7ff
     
  22. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,372
    Likes Received:
    578
    Ok, you're not having a network problem. In other words, setting the address statically won't help. Your wireless isn't associating itself with your access point/router.

    Try this again:

    iwconfig wlan0 essid "DandJ" key blahblahblahblahblahblah
    where blahblahblahblah gets replaced with your actual WEP key. Post the result of the command, then the result of iwconfig wlan0.

    I'm curious why it isn't making an association with your router even though it's detecting it (along with 2 other networks), and that's what we need to chase down.

    You are using WEP, right? Not WPA? (on the router, I mean)
     
  23. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yea, I am using WEP 128-bit, I will try again and let you know.
     
  24. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California
    Result:

    Code:
    [SIZE=2][email protected]:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "DandJ" key C6245BE46A956B52D244C843F9
    Password:
    [email protected]:~$
     
    [email protected]:~$ iwconfig wlan0
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:17 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:56/154 Noise level:0/154
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:19 Missed beacon:0
    
    [/SIZE]
     
  25. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,591
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Southern California

Share This Page