Linux Help Newbie

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by C-Lord, Feb 15, 2005.

1. C-Lord

C-Lord New Member

Aright i just installed knoppix on my hard drive in my laptop. I'm atotal newbie to linux but i have been fixing windows 98,2k server,xp and os9 for 3 years as a technician so i can figure things out. So anyway i'm trying to install kismet(www.kismet.com) along with orinoco drivers but i'm lost as hell. I understand that in linux u have compile things using /configure, make, and make install i know you must do this in the command line but does it mater where or can i just make a folder where i downloaded the source code and run from there?

But the big problem i'm having is installing this orinoco driver

http://www.kismetwireless.net/HOWTO-26_Orinoco_Rfmon.txt

I can't understand what the hell is going on here
    Any book or help that you guys can recommended to help me understand this would great.

Thanks

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

i prefer the madwifi project. It's super easy to download from CVS, compile, and install.

3. C-Lord

C-Lord New Member

ok i will have to spend some time reading some of the stuff on there website. I'm really trying to get airsnort to work and they said i have to install the special orinco drivers which is a diffrent world from windows.

4. korrupshun

korrupshun New Member

exactly why are you trying to get airsnort working? knoppix + airsnort = wardriving/walking (to me)....which is probably against the forum rules since its illegal to crack another's network.

5. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

there's the grey area. Technically it's not illigal to map networks broadcasting their SSID, but it is illigal to connect to those networks.

6. korrupshun

korrupshun New Member