Linux help 2 network cards

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mikeg001, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. mikeg001

    mikeg001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 network cards in my linux system and having troubles getting eth0 responding for outside the network. eth0 is on the public internet and eth1 is lan what is missing or where can i start ?


    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:5A:10:5E[​IMG]B
    inet addr:24.73.xxx.xxx Bcast:24.73.xxx.xxx Mask:255.255.255.248
    inet6 addr: fe80::210:5aff:fe10:5edb/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:252032 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2751 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:131204928 (125.1 MiB) TX bytes:1229389 (1.1 MiB)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0xdf00

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:56:5F:11:84
    inet addr:192.168.1.251 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20d:56ff:fe5f:1184/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3335462 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3296757 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:805963211 (768.6 MiB) TX bytes:1021981391 (974.6 MiB)
    Interrupt:5
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    What do you mean by it is not responding? from where? it looks like your ISP gave you an address on your external card... I'm assuming you used DHCP? can you ping out from your linux box?
     
  3. mikeg001

    mikeg001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 5 ip's with my isp and using one on the linux system outside the firewall i can ping it from my desktop, and firewall but cant from anyother isp bascilly anything off the network. IPtables it not running and i think if i ping a ip on the internet it goes out the lan ip then through the firewall.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, give us some traceroutes or something. what are you using for nameservers? you need eth0 to have a default gateway and have eth1 without default gateway.
     
  5. mikeg001

    mikeg001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [[email protected] ~]# traceroute 4.2.2.1
    traceroute to 4.2.2.1 (4.2.2.1), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
    1 10.98.32.1 (10.98.32.1) 11.233 ms 10.947 ms 11.433 ms
    2 pch15.50.tampflerl-rtr1.tampabay.rr.com (65.32.14.254) 12.465 ms 19.297 ms 14.523 ms
    3 pos6-0-OC-192.tampflerl-rtr3.tampabay.rr.com (65.32.8.133) 13.610 ms 11.995 ms 10.961 ms
    4 te-3-1.car1.Tampa1.Level3.net (63.208.0.85) 110.825 ms 97.825 ms 23.931 ms
    5 ae-5-5.ebr2.Atlanta2.Level3.net (4.69.133.50) 27.480 ms 29.744 ms 36.300 ms
    6 ge-11-2.hsa1.Atlanta1.Level3.net (4.68.103.164) 29.501 ms ge-11-0.hsa1.Atlanta1.Level3.net (4.68.103.36) 28.220 ms ge-11-1.hsa1.Atlanta1.Level3.net (4.68.103.100) 28.304 ms
    7 vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net (4.2.2.1) 27.888 ms 29.025 ms 26.699 ms
     
  6. mikeg001

    mikeg001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    is that the problem lan gateway assigned and wan gateway also assigned ?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    okay, that looks like it worked fine.

    if you can't ping INTO the network, then you need to check your router conf
     
  8. mikeg001

    mikeg001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    no router config it is a cable modem. i think the traceroute went out eth1 (lan ip) and not eth0
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    then get rid of the default gateway on eth1
     
  10. mikeg001

    mikeg001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will try that and update tomorrow.
     
  11. AO

    AO New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wyd
    Mask:255.255.255.248 would be the same if you only had one card installed?
     

Share This Page