linux crew

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by stoliohranj, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    anyone know about vnc server on fedora 4?
     
  2. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    What about? It works pretty much the same way as on any other platform.
     
  3. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    except i can't get it to work
     
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats great. But without more details, nobody can help you.
     
  5. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Have you opened the ports required? Is it crashing the computer? What is going on, need more info stat.
     
  6. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    i installed vnc via the YUM process
    it installed a viewer and server just fine
    i disabled the firewall
    i (believe atleast) started a server
    and every tiem i try to access it
    it just says cannot connect
     
  7. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    The first time you run vncserver on most platforms, it will simply ask you to enter in a new vnc password. On Fedora, it asks you to create a password and then it creates a new desktop for you in one swoop.

    List your ~/.vnc directory. It contains a .pid file for every desktop you've started as that user. Then do a 'ps -ef|grep vnc' and see if the running desktops match up.

    From your viewer, make sure you can ping the vncserver host first. Make sure its not a name resolution problem or that you dont have some kind of firewall running on the vnc host.
     

Share This Page