LINUX CREW: What's Your Desktop Environment?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by coronet, Dec 18, 2005.

  1. coronet

    coronet Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    32,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Hills, Los Angeles, California
    The big three are KDE, Gnome, and XFCE, but I've also heard of IceWM, Blackbox, Enlightenment, and WindowMaker; but have yet to see anyone use these (seen screenshots of IceWM; it's an option to install with Gentoo?). Which one do you use?

    I have been using Gnome; thought KDE was too overdone and I hated the concept of Konquerer (or anything else that began with a captial K :mad: ), and XFCE was just a little too buggy. But Gnome has nice themes and is overall pretty easy.

    What do you use? If you want, post some screens!
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I looove my XFCE. I use it at home, school and work.

    At home it looks like this (big pic). I love how it is customizable and looks good, as well as being functional and easy-to-setup, but without all the bloat of Gnome. To me, it's a perfect balance of easy to use with lots of features (like Gnome and KDE) and staying out of the way and being lightweight (like FVWM, Fluxbox, etc).

    I know a lot of people who swear by Fluxbox. It's very lightweight and has some nice features.
     
  3. teamelement3

    teamelement3 BFB

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    18,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to thread hijack, but if had an HD on another comp with linux installed, and I added it to my new computer which has windows installed, would this mess things up? or would I get to choose which OS I want to boot from?

    Note: Windows is on a SATA drive, and linux is on a traditional connection
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    If you just plug the Linux drive in, it'll probably boot into Linux by default or give you a choice (depending how your BIOS is setup). You could add Windows to the bootloader on the Linux drive so it'll give you a choice every time you boot.

    I'd recommend putting in the second HD and doing a fresh Linux install on it. That way, you won't run into any driver problems or anything since it was on another machine before.
     
  5. photo_piyamp

    photo_piyamp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Longview, WA
    I have a ton of windows managers installed and I stick with gnome. I used KDE for a while but it reminded me of Windows too much. Plus to me, Konquerer is nothing more than Windows explorer with a slightly less gay icon. I agree with coronet, anything that starts with a capital K is stupid.
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I don't use a graphical file manager at all, actually. It's just faster and easier for me to do my file management on the commandline. Nautilus, Konquerer, XFFM, etc... just seem like a waste of clicking to me.
     
  7. coronet

    coronet Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    32,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Hills, Los Angeles, California
    I still am having trouble with XFCE. I like how much space you get (especially since my primary use of the computer is internet browsing), but it has errors for me. Like I set the Window List to autohide, and it just disappeared. And it hasn't come back; but XFCE thinks it's still there!
     
  8. teamelement3

    teamelement3 BFB

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    18,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if i take the hd out of the other computer and put it in my new machine, put in the linux cds and boot from them to install, I select the new hd and just go from there?

    and it doesn't matter that I have one Sata drive, and one traditional drive?
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I would leave both in and do the Linux install on the one you want Linux on. That way, it'll automatically set up dual-booting with GRUB. I don't think having one SATA one IDE should be a problem, as long as the BIOS can see both at the same time :dunno:
     
  10. teamelement3

    teamelement3 BFB

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    18,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, cool, I'll give it a try tonight:bowdown:
     
  11. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth

    :squint:

    Normally I'll use Gnome. I used KDE for a while and then tried out Gnome again after installing ubuntu. Seeing the improvements they put in since last time I used it I like it more.
     
  12. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    File manager != window manager ;). I use XFCE as my Window manager, but I do my file management on the commandline.

    Gnome is looking mighty nice these days. If I were into flashy features and things, I'd definitely use it.
     
  13. coronet

    coronet Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    32,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Hills, Los Angeles, California
    I just reformatted as to try RainerFS :eek5:

    So far it only feels just a little faster than ext3, but in the beginning I was updating everything and there was some serious slowdownage :down:

    Anyways, what's the ubuntu command to get xfce, again?
     
  14. tony

    tony Guest

    fluxbox ftw
     
  15. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    apt-get install xfce4 xfce4-goodies

    Or just search for xfce4 in Synaptic and select the packages you'd like.
     
  16. coronet

    coronet Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    32,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Hills, Los Angeles, California
    OK, using XFCE now, and thankfully the titlebar is there! Any unique features I should take advantage of?
     
  17. Conrad10781

    Conrad10781 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Fluxbox on Debian.. Most people like that you can run KDE applications in it.. Although I don't use that feature. I read alot about people liking the slimmed down fluxbox with a nice feature like k3b, but I think people forget you have to load a lot of KDE libs to get that.
     
  18. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Alt+F11 to full-screen any window :dunno:

    I just like how light it is.
     
  19. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Sorry should've thought about what I read more. Hell most of the time I'll have one desktop with a web browser on it, and the others all have terminals open and maximized in them.
     
  20. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    what about superkaramba and gkrellem
     
  21. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,914
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    What, those unnecessary utilities and resource hogs that people use to make their desktop more attractive? Might as well be using Windows.
     
  22. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,914
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    dot

    Or Gentoo on XFCE4. :run:
     
  23. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    what about if i just want to have linux as a monitoring utility, are those cool?
     
  24. coronet

    coronet Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    32,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Hills, Los Angeles, California
    Widgets? I use gDesklets in Gnome:

    [​IMG]

    I just use weather, runs off of python :dunno:
     
  25. Capitals

    Capitals Guest

    Kubuntu FTW.
     

Share This Page