linksys wmp54gs?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by okita1, Nov 3, 2005.

  1. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    anyone use this adapter and install the shitty software that comes with it?
    i need to totally uninstall the software that came with the card, its creating conflicts with xp and its zero configuration. i uninstall the software and scanned through the registery and didnt see that it added anything to it (that i could find)

    anyone have this issue and successfully uninstall their software before?
     
  2. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    You uninstalled it and are still having issues with wireless zero config?

    Check the tray and make sure theres no icon for it. Also, check a/r programs and try uninstalling the driver for the wmp54gs to see if that can remove traces of it. You may want to check the LSP tables as well to see if it messed up something there. (LSPFIX)

    As an aside, what problems is it causing?
     
  3. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    did everything you stated with the exception of the lspfix, ill give that a try tonight thanks :)

    basically it can see the ssid but cant connect to the access point, im trying to setup a total of 4 pc's with this card. i installed the software on 3 (big mistake) and left one alone. the one where the software was never installed has no problems at all accessing the router secured or unsecured. while the other three i have gotten them to access the router for about 5 on a fluke. the more i read up on this card the more i regret buying it. some people said they have gotten it to work by uninstalling sp2, however thats a fix i would rather leave as a last resort. :hs:
     
  4. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Ouch :(

    That sounds like a pretty shitty problem. I was doing some googling to see if I could find anything and there were a few issues with 'ad hoc' settings.

    Check your wireless network properties, Advanced button, and see if its set to "Any available network".
     
  5. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    i think it does, unfortunatly im not where the network is right now, they wont have the internet for another week so im stuck trying to research this at work :hs:
     
  6. Gaylord Focker

    Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,063
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    -> . <-
    what about disabling the xp network confirguration and just using the linksys software?
     
  7. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    This may be a temporary fix :confused:

    The linksys software is pretty much like the access ibm connections software, but it has issues with some wireless networks and I find the windows built-in to be more reliable.
     
  8. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    tried it still wont connect to the access point

    i just want to get rid of the software totally and use only windoze to run it, but uninstalling this software is like trying to uninstall bonzai buddy or gator :wtc:

    EDIT: your talking about disabling the zero config right?
     
  9. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    :doh: I forgot to ask if you tried emailing linksys.
     
  10. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    yea i called and emailed, theyre all outsourced, reading scripts, i think i removed the ssid profile from my preferred network and manually set it up 20+ times last night along with uninstalling and reinstalling the software multiple times. when they get frustrated and cant solve the problem, or i ask for a level 2 tech they just hang up :wtc:
     
  11. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Bastards :wtc:
     
  12. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    for real, thanks for helping guys :wavey:
     
  13. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    just incase someone else has this problem
    **********************************************************
    POSSIBLE SOLUTION
    ok, i got 3 out of 4 of them on the network, basically i did a system restore to last friday a couple days before i installed the software, after i had uninstalled the software/and or nic. then ran the lspfix, installed the card (drivers only no linksys software), and configured it through windows only.
    **********************************************************
    however there is still one left that will pickup and drop the connection, about 5-10 minutes after the computer boots up it will grab the connection, then 5-10 minutes later drop it, the only real difference i can see between the computers is that the one with the issues has all the windows updates installed, while the other 3 have maybe one or 2 security updates, all still on sp1, looks like i have some more reading to do today :hs:
     
  14. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    SP1 :run:

    SP2's wireless optimization is very good, imo.
     
  15. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Why is my :run: not :running: :hs:
     
  16. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    dunno, ive read some threads where people said support told them to uninstall sp2 to make it work :jerkit:

    i have come to the conclusion that their support is worthless, i had one guy tell me the router was bad and to take it back :hsugh:
     
  17. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I worked on a machine that had some network problems with SP2. I uninstalled SP2, downloaded the SP2 network install, re-installed, and all problems were fixed.

    It may not be the answer to your problems though...
     
  18. okita1

    okita1 Great spirits have always encountered violent oppo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    cool ill give that a try when they get their internet up, thanks
     

Share This Page