Linksys EZXS88W 8-port auto switch problem with DSL

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by silentak1, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. silentak1

    silentak1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Perhaps you folks could give me a hand on this.

    My old setup that worked:

    AT&T 2Wire Router/Modem ---> CAT5 cable --> PC

    My New setup that isn't working:

    AT&T 2Wire Router/Modem ---> CAT5 cable to Port 1--> Linksys 8 port switch --> CAT5 cable from Port 3--> PC

    The network icon on the bottom right basically tells me "limited connectivity" and therefore doesn't allow me to gain access to the internet. I have also tried a cross-over cable from the modem/router to the switch and also the same combination but to the Uplink port.

    All the lights on the modem are good. The lights on the switch are all green, with blinking "link/act" so signal is present.

    Any clue what I might be missing?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    use a patch cable to the uplink port. Turn the PC off. Unplug 2wire power. wait 30 seconds. Plug 2wire back in to power. Wait until all lights are steady. Turn pc on.
     
  3. silentak1

    silentak1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    By patch, you mean cross-over? With 568A and 568B connectors? Does it also matter which end is connected to the switch?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no. Patch is not a crossover cable.

    patch cable

    1 ========= 1
    2 ========= 2
    3 ========= 3
    4 ========= 4
    5 ========= 5
    6 ========= 6
    7 ========= 7
    8 ========= 8

    crossover cable:

    1 ========= 3
    2 ========= 6
    3 ========= 1
    4 ========= 4
    5 ========= 5
    6 ========= 2
    7 ========= 7
    8 ========= 8
     
  5. silentak1

    silentak1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, i'll try that right now. :)
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  7. silentak1

    silentak1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! For some reason, it was the cable.

    The instructions called for cable to connect from the router to the port 1 of the switch, but the cable wasn't really transmitting properly. Connected another patch cable and all is good. The uplink port wasn't necessary afterall.

    :)
     

Share This Page