Limiting wireless range?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Marcos, Sep 17, 2003.

  1. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Do wireless routers come with an option to limit the range the signal travels?

    If not by software/settings, any other way?

    I just need the signal at around a 20m radius :dunno:
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Build a stealth Sphere.

    The only possible reason I can think of this project is that you want to limit who has access to the router and there are better means of doing this.
     
  3. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    some routers have an option in their onboard menu for decreasing the signal output strength. my D-link does. Has options for 100%, 50%, 25%, and 12.5%.
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,624
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Like the one in Enemy of the Sate? :cool:
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I read some great link on wireless lan safety etc, so that will be carried out too. But i thought it would be great to limit where the signal reaches, like placing a metal panel near the router where you dont want the signal to go (if that works :confused: )
     
  6. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :dunno: just get a 20 foot cat5 and you wont even need wireless
     
  7. Tom Ridge

    Tom Ridge Guest

    Turn down the power on the radio.
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Lead paint? ;)
     
  9. Duke Skywalker

    Duke Skywalker OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central California
    Just buy wireless products from the company that I work for. I guarantee that your signal will drop off after 20ft.

    Blitzz Technologies. Worst wifi products ever.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :rofl: :rofl: Good call, just buy crap.
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    And in reality, if you did turn it down, you may find you drop like a mofo even more often.

    Unless you are working for the government - or against it, you are being way to paranoid. Just use DHCP reservation and you'll be set.
     
  12. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,499
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    hehe 20m is about as far as wifi reaches anyway at least indoors.
     
  13. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    Use WEP and MAC filtering, you should be good. If you are that paranoid, use CAT5...
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Ok then, i guess im being paranoid.

    I'll just do what that guide says.
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I have a 30ft Cat5, but i thought i'd use my new laptop's wireless feature :dunno:

    I may end up just using wired though
     
  16. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,086
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    paranoid much ? if you lock it with a mac address and wep it will be really hard to spoof... are your neighbors like uber hackers or something?
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I doubt they even have a network, let alone wireless. Just dont like even taking the chance
     
  18. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I would also say you're being a little paranoid... Seriously, if you put any protection at all on the network (if you have drive sharing on password-protect it and use encryption and MAC address filtering), unless someone really really wants to get into YOUR network, they'll just keep driving down the street and find someone who's not protected at all. It's not like it's hard to find people who run wireless without any security whatsoever.
     
  19. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :werd:
     

Share This Page