A&P Lightroom turns my B&W pics to color

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by GregFarz78, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. GregFarz78

    GregFarz78 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    64,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    I went out shooting this weekend and wanted to experiment with B&W when I got home and imported them into Lightroom they came out in color :dunno: The preview on camera was B&W so what gives?
     
  2. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Are you shooting raw?
     
  3. GregFarz78

    GregFarz78 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    64,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    yep I shot RAW
     
  4. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    I could be wrong, but I think when you shoot RAW you actually get a full color frame and the camera does a basic B&W conversion for the LCD display, it's up to you to use your processor to convert it to B&W.
     
  5. GregFarz78

    GregFarz78 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    64,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    oh rly :o

    I figured I can convert it to B&W but it was easier to shoot in B&W just one less step in post...well I know for next time now :hs:
     
  6. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Well if they're all similar you can convert one then apply the style to all of them quicklike, and then just auto-apply when you import them next time. :dunno:
     
  7. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    Spurious nailed it...

    RAW disregards ALL in camera adjustments and just gives you the exact data captured by your sensor...

    Same thing for all of your contrast, saturation, etc. in camera settings...
     
  8. GregFarz78

    GregFarz78 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    64,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    If you shoot jpeg it retains all in camera adjustments?
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yes.
     
  10. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    thats loser talk.
     
  11. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    :werd:

    LR presets ftw :coold:
     
  12. nastyboy132

    nastyboy132 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page