A&P lightroom is cool, but shit is it slow...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by SpiderOnTheFloor, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. SpiderOnTheFloor

    SpiderOnTheFloor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    11,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    and I'm running a core 2 duo with 2gb ram...anyone else think its sluggish?
     
  2. 19Godfather86

    19Godfather86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's too slow on my computer, but my computer is kinda shitted on.
     
  3. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Aperture runs sluggish on my dual 2.3ghz G5 w/3.5gb of RAM. I expected it to run rather fluid coming from Apple.

    Both programs are in their first release tho. So expect it to improve I guess.
     
  4. Traitor

    Traitor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Science Crew
    It runs fine on mine, and i use dual monitors with it
     
  5. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I don't notice a problem on my 1.67ghz PPC G4 Powerbook :o

    I only load about 15 images into the library at a time though.
     
  6. Traitor

    Traitor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Science Crew
    15? :eek4: i have over 2000
     
  7. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM

    I import them, adjust them, delete them from the library.

    I keep my photos stored and organized in a file structure. I don't need lightroom for anything other than modifying photos :dunno:
     
  8. Traitor

    Traitor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Science Crew
    Thats true, but I kinda use lightroom to organize, then export the modifyed to their own folder. Everyone has their system :)
     
  9. I don't have a problem at all on my portable, I use CS2, Lightroom, and listen to music with Windows Media Player and a few IE windows open at the same time and never have any issues. I do this daily though so maybe my computer is just use to my high demand. :dunno:

    DuoCore 2.16GHz 994MHz 2gig ram
     
  10. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    runs fine on mine
    XP Pro, athlon 64 3000+ (2.0ghz) 2.5GB ran.

    CS3 loads fast as hell too.
     
  11. mandarin orange

    mandarin orange OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    works fine on mine. Dell laptop. core duo 2.3ghz or some shit. 2gb of ram.
     
  12. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    runs fine on my 1.67 powerbook, i never have to wait more than a second for it.
     
  13. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    runs fine on mine, and its old. p4 3.0, 2gb RAM, 23K+ images in it. Could it be faster, sure, but its still completely useable. 2gb RAM ior more is key though, I tried it on a similar setup with far less images but only 1gb RAM and it was awful.
     
  14. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I run a core 2 duo with 2gb ram and it's really fast (in fact I'm amazed at how fast it is)

    ???
     
  15. SpiderOnTheFloor

    SpiderOnTheFloor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    11,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm probably just picky...theres no actual delays while I am working, its more of a quickness thing I guess.
     
  16. CombatWombat

    CombatWombat oh shit, zombies bro

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    On my Intel P4 EE 3.4GHz, 1 GB RAM, it runs fine. I don't use the library, and on some stuff it could be faster, but I use it with Photohop CS2, iTunes, MSN and Teamspeak 2 running. Even on my dual screen set up.

    Maybe it's just a matter of patience. :rolleyes:
     
  17. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    it runs poopy for me too, but damn does it kick ass :bowdown:
     
  18. porsch1909

    porsch1909 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    30,081
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Scotland
    I just downlaoded it and the interface is pretty confusing. I don't have to the time just now to learn it.

    Any tips?
     
  19. Joetabasco

    Joetabasco The Wing King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'm in ur cube, eatin' ur wings!!
    ran lighning fast for me until I imported about 4000 pictures... now its slo as hell... cool program though... better for Jpegs than PS.
     

Share This Page