A&P Lightroom for PC, tommorow maybe?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by mojito, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    nevermind, its out, just got the email
     
  3. BLKDVLGSX

    BLKDVLGSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    40,428
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Buford, GA
    yep, already playing with it
     
  4. hash browns

    hash browns lolcathlon champion OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95,391
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    This software copied everything from Aperture including the slowness.
     
  5. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    everything is too slow

    100% cpu usage on both cores just to collapse some panels in develop mode? :bowrofl:
     
  6. BLKDVLGSX

    BLKDVLGSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    40,428
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Buford, GA
    Mine runs fast :dunno:
     
  7. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    what are you system specs? :dunno:
     
  8. BLKDVLGSX

    BLKDVLGSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    40,428
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Buford, GA
    3.4 prescott @ 3.7
    2 gigs ram
    10K raptor
     
  9. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I'm running on a AMD64 x2 3800 @ 2.2ghz, 2gb ram, 10k raptor and it's probably the slowest raw processing program I've ever used. Every image you click on has to "Working..." for 2-3 seconds before the full preview loads completely (this is raw AND jpg). Exposure adjustments aren't real-time, you have to drag and wait for the adjustments to be made, then make micro adjustments afterward. All the sliders are "muddy" in my opinion, they don't slide fluidly and don't feel precise at all. Yeah, it loads thumbnails quickly but after you get past that everything is really sluggish.
     
  10. Airpoppoff

    Airpoppoff Vodka > Racing F1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kirkland, Seattle, Wa
    Yeah, I tested it out with a couple shots, and I don't like it that much, it's really really slow :hs:
     
  11. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is pretty bad. I had higher expectations for it for some reason. Reminds me why I hate working in RAW to begin with
     
  12. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Try Bibble. RAW-> jpg conversion is under 5 seconds for me. I make all my adjustments with keyboard shortcuts in real time. :)
     
  13. SenenCito

    SenenCito OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    New York, NY
    How does it compare to aperture, Nikon Capture NX, im hearing some real good things from that program
     
  14. Airpoppoff

    Airpoppoff Vodka > Racing F1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kirkland, Seattle, Wa
    Nowhere near to capture.
     
  15. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    It'll get better I'm sure.
     
  16. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    new beta runs really well on my macbook pro :dunno:
     

Share This Page