A&P lightroom. cropping then vignetting.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by ace3, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    so, say i have an 1200x1200 image.

    i crop this to 400x400.

    then i apply a vignette to the image.

    (at least how i'm doing it), you can't see the f'n vignette, because it applies it to the original image size.

    what am i doing wrong? i know i could increase the size of the vignette, but maybe i want it to be really thick (really black?) at the corners of my crop? i can't figure out what to do differently other than to export the crop & vignette it again.

    :dunno:
     
  2. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    in for answer, this has been bugging the shit out of me too :o
     
  3. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    :h5:
     
  4. Gerbonium

    Gerbonium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    you could try saving the cropped image and then reopening it and applying the vignetting
     
  5. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    you could try reading my last sentence. :fawk:
     
  6. brembo

    brembo New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia.
    I havent used lightroom much (only installed it a few days ago), but does cropping, then clicking the "Loupe View" button in the develop panel near the crop button work?
     
  7. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    no way aroudn it, vignetting applies to teh raw file. not the cropped area. gotta export and reload. Thats how ive been doing it. PITA. but i hope there is another way...
     
  8. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    in for a fix in the next version :o
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    never noticed this, probably because i hardly use vignettes :o
     
  10. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    I like using it on B&W conversions :o
     
  11. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    people use it hardcore for weddings...
     
  12. Gerbonium

    Gerbonium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    lulz my bad:o
     
  13. GregFarz78

    GregFarz78 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    64,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    I'm no lightroom pro but any edits are applied to the original raw file I believe, when you crop in lightroom its not cropping the raw file it just crops the view on your screen you need to export then reopen it and edit that file :hs:
     
  14. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    as much as lightroom can do and it has that small of a problem :o
     
  15. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    The justification, I imagine, is that the vignetting wasn't intended to be an "effect" in Lightroom, in fact it's under lens corrections. So only applying it to the full raw frame is the only "intended" use for it because that's the only place where you would need to "correct" the vignetting.

    I do all of my PP vignetting in PS anyway, the Lightroom slider is a little limiting.
     
  16. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    I like the workflow and menus in lightroom a lot better then the almost non existent workflow of photoshop :o
     
  17. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Very true. I like to think of Photoshop as a snap-in for Lightroom, something like Develop+, the integration is actually pretty good. But I'd like it if the Photoshop changes would appear in the history in Lightroom, so you could have aggregate states, instead of a new, stacked image.
     
  18. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    well its already been answered, export/import, or edit in PS and do it there
     
  19. GregFarz78

    GregFarz78 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    64,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    I don't have lightroom in front of me but if I remember I think you can set the crop border hit enter it should crop everything out you don't want, then try to apply the vingetting and export...its worth a try I might be wrong though :dunno:
     
  20. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope :hs:

    I'd expect a fix by 2.0, but it is easy to see what they were thinking. Its not suppose to be an artistic took, its suppose to be for removing lens inperfections :hs:
     
  21. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    yea i hate this issue too. if i really MUST have vignetting on the cropped image, I just export it and open it in PS, because I like the vignetting in CS3 better than LR
     
  22. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    how does one get to the vignetting tool in photoshop, i dont liek to do it manually.
     
  23. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    filters - distort - lens correction
     
  24. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    ooo cool. thanks
     

Share This Page