A&P lightroom and "my documents" folder location

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by ///Mik3, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. ///Mik3

    ///Mik3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over California
    So i was wondering if i were to change the target of my My Documents folder to a different hard drive, would lightroom be able to find the necessary .lrcat files and Work Previews.lrdata folders, or will it just screw everything up?

    In actuality what i'd really like to be able to do is change the location of the lightroom folder to a different drive since it takes up quite a bit of space and will only get bigger. Is it possible to do this w/ out fucking things up?

    If not, i'd be fine w/ changing the target of my My Documents folder to a different drive, but i was wondering if even that would work.
     
  2. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,114
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    east coast
    From what little I've experienced, if LR can't find the folder all you have to do is locate it again on import. At least I think that's what I did.
     
  3. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    If you move the catalog, you have to move it in the Lightroom preferences as well.
     
  4. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    yea, it's an easy change. don't worry, LR won't freak out and stop working
     
  5. ///Mik3

    ///Mik3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over California
    sweet thanks guys. it worked nicely.

    Just opened up lightroom after the move and it asked what catalog to open up and baddabing.
     
  6. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    its always good to move within LR, but isn't essential, you'll just have to point it to either the catalog or the files depending on what you did.
     

Share This Page