Lexus IS350 + DP Poli-Coat/Crimson Hydro-Tech initial review

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by Scottwax, Apr 12, 2010.

1. Scottwax

Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

2007 Lexus IS350. I've been doing exterior details on it for around 3 years now. Never gone into it harder than an orange cutting pad and Meguiars #205 or Optimum Polish II. Owner does a nice job washing it because it is very minimally swirled. I suppose it could use some rotary work to make pretty much perfect, but still looks better in the sun than 99% of the cars you'll run across.

Polished this time with my G110 using an orange 5.5" Erasure cutting pad and Meguiars #205.

I then followed with DP's Poli-Coat, which Autogeek was kind of enough to send me to test, along with the Crimson Hydro-Tech finishing pad. Poli-Coat is a lot thicker than I expected, more in line with a polish than an LSP. The label on the bottle says it contains cleaners to help prep the paint, probably in line with what you'd find in Werkstat's Prime or Zaino AIO.

I'd already tried Poli-Coat on my own car by hand so I was interested to see how using it via DA would compare.

The thickness of Poli-Coat and the softness of the H-T pad meant at first the combo was really grabby via my G110 at a speed of 4. Once I got a bit more product on the pad and kicked the speed to 4.5, it smoothed things out. 3 pea sized dots were enough for two doors or the entire hood (or similar surface area). I applied it to the entire car and then buffed it off, just as I had done by hand on my car. Honestly, since Poli-Coat doesn't have any abrasive properties that could cause fingertip marring when applying by hand, I think that's going to be my preferred method simply because I an apply it faster by hand than by a DA polisher. However, for those who like using a machine through the whole process, Poli-Coat works well with the H-T finishing pad.