MMA Let's discuss technique

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Antigeek, Dec 20, 2007.

1. Antigeek

Antigeek Who Dat!

Now that I've been training in Brazilian for a couple months after about a year of Minami-ryu Ju Jitsu, I've pretty much had to go back to square one.

Well, maybe not square one, but I definitely am way behind the other guys who have a year of Brazilian on me.

Anyway, I read Eddie Bravo's stuff on the "Lockdown" in half guard, and I've been working on it a lot lately. Tonight, I was effective in keeping one of our two stripe whitebelts in it and keeping him from improving position, but I never felt like I could do anything to improve my position. It eventually became an attrition game and I'd finally reverse him when he went out of his way to try to trap an arm or something.

Is there something from that position you can do that's more effective? I've seen a couple reversals from half guard, but I can't seem to set them up effectively.

Oh, and Tim, I landed another helicopter armbar tonight. :fawk:

2. kronik85

kronik85 New Member

3. Exiled

Exiled New Member

You can grab his other foot, take his base and roll him on his butt.. or work on getting full guard by spreading him out... there's a calf crank from there, ways to get his back from there..

keep grapplin

4. JordanClarkson

JordanClarkson OT Supporter

5. Mannaze

Mannaze New Member

I'd stick to basic positions, postures and escapes before I did anything "eddie Bravo".

6. Antigeek

Antigeek Who Dat!

I've been grappling over a year.

I'm short, and have correspondingly short legs. I can't close full guard on most people I roll with. I started playing with the lockdown thing and it's effective 'for me'.

7. chechen

chechen Brazilian Jiu Jitsu OT Supporter

8. chechen

chechen Brazilian Jiu Jitsu OT Supporter

open guard

9. Antigeek

Antigeek Who Dat!