A&P Lens Types: say waht?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by mooingmooseman, Jun 21, 2008.

1. mooingmooseman

mooingmooseman New Member

Hey guys,

First time poster on OT Photo. I'm in DPReview a lot but I thought I'd give the OT photo crew a shot.

I'm not new to digital photography but I got my first dSLR this year so I am new to lenses and dSLR's. I have a Nikon d40 but that's kind of irrelevant.

What are the different types of lenses (in general)? I saw a $1000 macro lens thats 100mm f/2.8.... I own a 55-200 f/4.8 that cost $200.... why is the macro that much more? Can't I just shoot with mine at 100mm? I understand the aperture is better but for a couple for stops, how can that be worth that much more money... so you say "well people are just willing to pay for those f stops". okay then look at this:

There's a 16-35mm f/2.8 lens selling for $1600 in this picture

http://uploader.ws/upload/200806/DSC_4164b.jpg

I just don't understand. My kit lens seems similar.... Where are these high prices coming from? The only spec I attribute to good glass is the focal range and f/stops.... and neither seem great in that lens

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. Dwight Schrute

Dwight Schrute New Member

Generally speaking, you're paying for lens speed, image quality, and build quality.

3. NOR*CAL

NOR*CAL OT Supporter

16-35 2.8L you can buy from Amazon.com for $1350

Higher end lenses are more expensive because:

Glass is better(quality optical glass is ~$2,000 per kg or something)
    Focuses faster
    USM(quiet focusing)
    Can have Image Stabilization
    Larger aperture (numerical wise smaller)** 1.2>2.8 larger glass = more $$$

4. mooingmooseman

any measures that show me glass and focusing quality?

5. Bloke

Bloke Banned

Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  6. Bloke

Bloke Banned