Learn from my experience

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bleak, Jul 23, 2004.

  1. bleak

    bleak Guest

    So I just firewalled myself (and everybody else in the world) off my server:

    iptables -A INPUT -j DROP = very bad if you don't have rules allowing SSH/telnet in place beforehand :doh::uh::Owned:
     
  2. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    Everyone has done something like that one time or another.

    Ever bring down the interface that you came in through? Doh!

    One thing I've been doing lately,

    service network stop

    instead of

    service networker stop

    Once you realize what you've done it too late. Either I ilo in, take a walk, call someone to walk to the console.
     
  3. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... :) Done this too many times. I have given up on remote network changes -- its ALWAYS a bad idea if there is another option.
     
  4. bleak

    bleak Guest

    The problem is that my server is located a datacenter in Dallas, so it's pretty inconvenient to drive there whenever I want to make network changes (like I'll be doing later this afternoon, unfortunately).
     
  5. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i feel your pain. i don't know how many times i had to make middle of the night runs just to turn a server back on because i accidently shut down instead of restart over VNC while trying to do late night software updates. :(

    at least our data center had a (free) sit-down pole position (the old school racing game) in the server room once i got there.

    edit: luckily i knew the owners, so i eventually got them to give me a key to the place so i wouldn't have to bug them in the middle of the night when i did stupid shit like that. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2004
  6. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,206
    Likes Received:
    516
    that sucks, man. I've done that a dozen times on my server. :hs:
     
  7. bleak

    bleak Guest

    I have a 24/7/365 access key to the datacenter, so getting in isn't a problem. I just don't like Dallas.
     
  8. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i'm with you there. after they got more money than they knew what to do with, we used data return for a while. had to go up there for a few meetings.
     
  9. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you have a remote DC, why not implement a remote connection that doesn't rely on the network being up for the OS on that box?

    We use Terminal servers, not the POS windows thing, but a real one that connects to your com port, and Avocent KVM's, and Integrated Lights Out cards.
     
  10. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    I remember the first time I did that. I laughed at myself so hard I almost cried.
     
  11. bleak

    bleak Guest

    Me = too poor for that.
     

Share This Page