LCD 1080p TV hooked up to basic cable?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chris87, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ya I know first thing you're going to say is why buy such a good TV, but here's my situation:

    I have to give my cheap tube TV to a roommate, so rather than spending $100 on another used one, I figure I might just buy a good TV finally even though I don't really need a good TV right now... I'm going to be moving in < 6 months, at which point I'll get good cables, HD cable, etc. But until then, the TV would just be hooked up to a regular coaxial cable with basic non-digital cable.

    Is that going to damage the TV in any way? :dunno:
     
  2. shiba

    shiba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    no. Unless you force it in the wrong way up.
     
  3. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ha ha.

    Running shitty quality through it isn't going to damage or burn the screen funny or anything like that?
     
  4. TheDude

    TheDude Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    you will most likely be able to get more hd tv channels than you think with basic cable.
     
  5. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    this. You'll get all basic channels in HD and should be able to pull them without a cable box through QAM. They'll be dashed numbers, like 25-2, 25-3 - but they'll look great.
     
  6. jbuffethed

    jbuffethed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maxwell AFB
    I have the cable box hooked to our old CRT in our bedroom. My DLP has a digital tuner, so I just hook the cable to that and scan for channels. I get more that way and a few in HD that wouldnt get with the box hooked to my DLP.
     
  7. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    You dunno how much space you'll have at your new place. Just watch video on your PC until you move... you can do <6 months standing on your head unless you watch TV a lot.
     
  8. Mangina

    Mangina New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada City
    It won't be any shittier than his old picture?

    You won't hurt a thing. LCD's are very durable.
     
  9. baanceboy

    baanceboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    consider plasma?
     
  10. Original

    Original OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    33,808
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    God's Country
    you won't hurt anything. of course it won't look like HD, but it'll be fine
     
  11. dpizzle2oo6

    dpizzle2oo6 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    All these people say it wont hurt anything but in reality it can. Back in the 80s early 90s they pushed 90 volts over the cable system. They installed boxes at the side of the house that took the 90 volts and made it close to nothing and clean. Now, sometimes 90 volts is still in the drop but most of the boxes on the house have been removed because the digital cable boxes are meant to take the "heat". So, basically what I am trying to say is make sure the cable doesn't have any voltage. (I work for Comcast.) Depending on your area we have small digital adapters you can get for free that get you all the channels. You just don't get a guide, On Demand and pay channels (HBO, Starz, ETC.).
     
  12. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    it could be if he has an older cable box.

    i swapped out a tube tv for a plasma and the picture got worse, until i got a different converter box.
     

Share This Page