Laptops running Aperture and Resource heavy programs?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by anthem404, Dec 1, 2007.

1. anthem404

anthem404 not my cup of mud

I own a iMac 24" (Just before the new generation came out), so It's got 2gb of ram, 500gb HD, 7800 with 256mb memory, etc, etc.

I'm a serious amateur photographer who is looking for the luxury of portability, not only for shooting, but for school and such. Before I spend cash on something overkill, I have some questions:

1) Does anyone know how well Aperture (my editing program of choice) runs on a standard MacBook?
    2) If I do choose a standard Macbook (not a pro model), how well would things like Photoshop run on it?
    3) Is it truly worth the money for the pro model, as compared to the standard?
    4) And is there any performance difference between a white macbook and a black macbook? Or is it all aesthetics?

My choices are as follows:

Standard White MacBook with:
    2.2 GHz processor
    2gb of ram
    and Aperture preinstalled

Costing around 1,750.

Standard Black MacBook with:
    2.2 GHz processor
    2gb of ram
    Aperture preinstalled

For 1,950

Macbook Pro with:
    2.2 Ghz processor
    2gb of ram
    120 GB HD
    128 video memory

for 2,300

or a Macbook pro with:
    2.4 ghz processor
    2gb of ram
    160 HD
    256 vid. memory

for 2,800.

I would love to save money if at all possible. I'm not asking Aperture and Photoshop to be perfect, just quick enough to take some punishment.

Thanks. :wiggle:

also, I've seen the ADC discount, not eligible yet.

Is it possible for me to get one of my buddies in college to sign up and let me pay? Or would they catch that shit?

Last edited: Dec 1, 2007
  2. ROFLCORE

ROFLCORE Guest

You'll have no problems whatsoever with any of the above listed models.

I firmly believe the MBP are well worth it, but I use my machines extensively, so iono. :o

3. anthem404

Ahh, good.