Laptop Upgrade

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by FunkyMunniez, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    Posted this in the Computer's subforum but figured since a lot of you guys have built some good PC's I would ask here too. :cool:

    I want to upgrade my laptop PC's processor and RAM.

    Currently sitting on an AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Tech TL-50 1.60 GHz processor and 1 gig installed RAM.

    I have a 32 bit operating system and currently run Windows 7.

    I'm looking to upgrade my processor to something 2 GHz or higher and up to about 2 gigs of ram.

    I was looking at AMD processors and they seem to have some decent ones for $60 or so, but I wanted to see if you guys had any good suggestions for a good CPU and maybe an idea of how much it would take to do an upgrade on average:x:

    Thanks :wavey:
     
  2. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    there's a good chance the processor is soldered on to your mobo, laptops generally aren't great for upgradability.
     
  3. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    depending on your laptop, your upgrade might not be as substantial as you'd hope. However, ram is no big deal. I upped my 1705 to 1.5 gigs by switching out 1 of the 512 chips with a gig stick.
     
  4. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    balls. well thats something ill have to check into. Let's assume that it's not though, what are your suggestions.

    I'd just like my programs to not crash/lag when I have a few open while applications and such are running (maybe play a game or two without any framerate issues:x:):hsd:

    My girlfriend's laptop has those specs and she just has the bigger model of my computer (HP dv6000) and she has no problems.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  5. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    you might just be having software conflicts.
     
  6. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    umm... wouldn't that disable dual channel?
     
  7. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    I went to PCWorld's website and checked out some things they had on RAM and I pretty much fit the criteria for an upgrade on RAM. CPU might not need to be but I figured why not.
     
  8. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    i don't know. does it?
     
  9. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    yeah, you have to have (mostly) identical ram in both slots IIRC

    apparently some intel chipsets have FLEX mode that runs dual channel for the max capacity of the lower stick and the rest runs in single channel :dunno:
     
  10. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    so then upgrade both. xD
     
  11. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    :rofl: 99% sure my ram is a dual chip set so I would just be going with whatever is compatible.

    What I'm still interested in though is the CPU. Provided that it's not soldered to the motherboard, I was looking at this processor:

    http://www.amd.com/us/products/notebook/processors/turion-x2/Pages/turion-x2-mobile-features.aspx

    Is this a good processor? I seriously have no idea :rofl: All I know is that it's better than what I have. I don't want to walk into a place and get ripped off by a salesman for something I really don't need.
     
  12. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    i get intel. i dunno why
     
  13. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    :rofl: yeah that's going to fit in his amd socket mobo
     
  14. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got's magic bro. I can make it fit :rofl:
     
  15. forgotmyname

    forgotmyname Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not worthy. If you were to increase more ram, then you would have to get more heat from it, and the default fan wouldn't cut it. You'd get overheating.
     
  16. Barkode

    Barkode Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    15,938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Just swap the two she won't know the difference problem solved
     
  17. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    when she starts asking questions, just put my cock in her mouth and give her something to do amirite?
     
  18. Barkode

    Barkode Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    15,938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    BTW that advice costs munnies
     
  19. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    inorite? 5 bucks a character.
     
  20. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    fuuuuuuuuuuuuuu:wtc:
     
  21. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    dual channel aside, upping your ram won't affect your heat much. Or will it? Maybe that's why my laptop took a shit after a year and half after my memory upgrade. :squint:

    Maybe you should invest in a desktop?
     
  22. forgotmyname

    forgotmyname Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    I added another 512mb stick to my old Inspiron and the base started to get crazy hot. Then it died, because the screen burned out.
    But yeah, the original fan was not cutting it and it was also very loud.
     
  23. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    so if i upgrade ram and overheating is an issue, is there anything i can do to cool the computer? better fans? cooling dock?
     
  24. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    my video card took a dump. If I put it back together (its in pieces with my stripped mobo hanging on the wall) with a new gpu, it'd work just fi... err... I'd have to install a new OS.
     
  25. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Buy one of those lame laptop coolers that cool the plastic bottom of your laptop and do absolutely nothing for the internal temp.

    Or just use your laptop outside in the the dead of winter.
     

Share This Page