Laptop screen as a monitor for my desktop?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sansb, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. sansb

    sansb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I moved away to college I brought with me my laptop and desktop, deciding at last minute to leave behind my monitor to save valuable space. Now I'm wishing I could access my desktop for the sweet sweet gigabytes of movies and music I could store, but I have no monitor.
    So is it possible at all to use a laptop as a monitor for a desktop system?
     
  2. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    No laptop that I know of allows that. Sorry.
     
  3. GoChris

    GoChris 11 seconds

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you have windows XP on the desktop, you can connect to it using Remote Desktop.

    but you will have to enable it on the desktop first, ie, right click my comptuer, remote tab, then enable.

    so maybe borrow a monitor to enable it then just turn the pc on without a monitor or anything and you can remote to it, and setup shares to get shit via the lan
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd:

    Or, if all you want from it is the data, just access the files remotely (although I suppose this would be difficult to setup on Windows without a monitor - I always forget that Windows is useless headless).
     
  5. sansb

    sansb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright that's sort of what I figured, thanks for the helps guys. I'll just see what kind of useful goods I can borrow from the computer lab.
     
  6. tony

    tony Guest

    If all you're after is the storage, buy a couple external USB/Firewire enclosures.
     
  7. Subie Driver

    Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR

    I don't think it's the storage he's looking for, but what he already has saved on the desktop. Best thing would be like what others have said, borrow a monitor, just set up file sharing and share everything you want to see, and just access those things from the laptop via your network places.
     
  8. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Well if he bought an extrnal enclosure for the HDD he could take the HD with all his stuff from the desktop put it in the enclosure and then access it on his laptop. Go to walmart, you can get them for like 20-40 bucks. I used to have one when I first went to college as well:bigthumb:
     
  9. Subie Driver

    Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR

    Ah, yes, I see what you are saying. Might be a problem if he pulls the hd out of his desktop, though, if it has the OS installed on it. I pulled the hd out of my old laptop when the case broke, and the only way I was able to acces the info was with a data recovery program. Otherwise, it wanted me to format the drive.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :wtf: The FS on the drive must have been borked. It shouldn't be any problem at all to just plug in a drive with an OS on it and access the data.
     
  11. Subie Driver

    Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR

    I know, I'm not sure what the problem was, just that it wouldn't read the data. The hd had ME on it, and the comp I was hooking it to had XP, so maybe that was part of the problem, but that shouldn't have happened. But with the data recov program, I was able to get everything off of it fine. Not sure what happened, but it happened to me, it could happen to him, so I mentioned it. The drive still works perfectly, by the way.
     

Share This Page