Laptop RAM

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NisAznMonk, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I'm wanting to upgrade the RAM on my Compaq laptop. It currently has two 256mb sticks in it. I checked the crucial.com website, and it says that I can max out my laptop to two 1GB DDR- PC2700 200pin SODIMM sticks. I'm obviously no computer whiz, and was wondering do I have to stick to PC2700?
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    sorry man,... my psychic abilities aren't working so I can't tell the specific model of your compaq laptop.

    just check your manual or compaq's site.
     
  3. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Its a Compaq V2000 CTO if that helps any.
     
  4. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    Crucial's website is on the money. Do their system scan, and than buy that type of ram on Newegg.
     
  5. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    So I guess DDR2 memory is out of the question if they list only DDR?
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    CTO are the custom ordered ones I think.

    V2000 (Intel version) = PC2700
    V2000Z (AMD version) = PC2700 & PC3200
     
  7. JordanClarkson

    JordanClarkson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    59,945
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Go Dodger Blue!
    You'll have to buy DDR instead of DDR2, but you can use anything higher than PC2700, such as PC3200. It will run at PC2700 speeds and if you're lucky the latency will be lower as well so that's one advantage of buying faster ram even if your system doesn't support it.
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    orly? if he's unlucky, it won't boot at all.
     
  9. JordanClarkson

    JordanClarkson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    59,945
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Go Dodger Blue!
    The PC3200 specs require it to be backwards compatible, but if you buy some cheap ram, it might not be. So I'd stick with a brand name
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    do not assume.
    the Intel based v2000 bios' has issues with Corsair or Crucial PC3200s. both are named brands.
    the Turion based v2000s has no problems.
     
  11. JordanClarkson

    JordanClarkson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    59,945
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Go Dodger Blue!
    return & exchanges ftw
     

Share This Page