Laptop memory question...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Reclaimer, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. Reclaimer

    Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOUISIANA
    I just bought a brand new Gateway lappy with 1GB of ram and Windows Vista is a memory whore so im in the market for 2GB...but the memory that is in it right now are two 512 sticks...so i have to get two 1gb sticks instead...

    my memory is PC2-5300 DDR2 SODIMM, could i use PC2-5400 DDR2 or PC2-4200 DDR2 or does it have to be the same kind of memory that came with the laptop?

    thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    As long as its DDR2, and the same pin count, it'll work. If you get ram that is faster than your laptop mobo can handle, it'll slow itself down. I would suggest this, rather than buying ram that is slower than what your laptop can handle.

    Crucial is usually a good site to find out what your ram specs are. Run that to find out what your system's max ram amount, and max ram speeds are. Base your purchase on that.
     
  3. Reclaimer

    Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOUISIANA

    thanks, but when i run the test...it gives me this:


    We're sorry.
    Crucial currently does not have any compatible upgrades available for your particular system. If you have questions or would like further support, please contact our support department.





    Your Computer Specifications




    256 MB DDR PC2-5300 512 MB



    Maximum Memory Capacity: 3145728 MB
    Currently Installed Memory: 768 MB
    Available Memory Slots: N.A.
    Number of Banks: 2
    Dual Channel Support: N.A.
    CPU Manufacturer: GenuineIntel
    CPU Family: Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHz Model 14, Stepping 12
    CPU Speed: 1733 MHz


    how can i figure out what kind of memory i can use from these numbers?
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That just means they haven't tested it. Try www.oempcworld.com and see if they can tell you what type of RAM you need. If they have a good price, buy the 1GB sticks there; otherwise, take the info and look at www.newegg.com.
     

Share This Page