MIL Language school

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by QuickHitCurepon, May 22, 2008.

1. Did anyone else take a language course while in the military?

I graduated at the top of my class in Chinese at the Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center www.dliflc.edu in 1979. It was a really great experience!

My lifelong friend, who joined the Air Force the same week as I did, just retired as a Senior Master Sergeant a year ago with about twenty-eight years of service. He also took a language course when he was assigned as an attache at the American Embassy in Armenia. Although, he took a short-course in Armenian. There was a lieutenant who was in charge at the embassy during his stay. When she left on trips, he was in charge. He had quite a responsibility.

2. kidhero

kidhero not really a hero, really just a big fat phony

high five mtn view crew

i wish i did dlab

but i wasn't a citizen

3. So you tried and they wouldn't let you because you're not a citizen?

Where are you from?

4. They should have let you or should let you. I'm sure you'll love it. I was on Cloud 9 when I was learning it. My classmates and I talked to each other non-stop in Chinese and when we went places. A real thrill. :)

5. I didn't know what I wanted to do, really, when I joined. I just mentioned to my recruiter that I did reasonably well in Spanish for a couple of years in high school. And right away, he suggested I take the dlab (Defense Language Aptitude Battery) and I did well on it. I was surprised when I got the results and happy to accept his recommendation.

6. kazimer

kazimer New Member

sounds like a blast. i really wished i had the opportunity to goto DLI without giving up the army officer cash bonus
    ni hao ma?

i took mandarin for 2 years while in college. that was about 6 years ago but i still remember the basics...we used to have OT threads in pinyin and i could follow and contribute quite easily

7. Hao, hao, ni ne? Shi zuihao ni xueguo zhonguo huo...wo ai le!