l4d runs well, tf2 is really choppy

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by neon, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    It's not my ping that's for sure, and I've tried lowering the graphics all the way down on tf2 but it's still so slow all of the sudden. (almost like my processor is being overworked)

    specs

    xp pro sp2
    3 ghz p4
    2 gigs ram
    nvidia 8600 GT 512 mb

    the strange part is l4d runs perfectly on all medium settings. is there some strange setting I should change or reinstall the game or something?
     
  2. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    your l4d is running slow too, you just don't notice because they're zombies.
     
  3. NeonImpact

    NeonImpact New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
  4. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    your processor is fail unless you really meant to say C2Duo or Core Duo. But even CD processors are archaic compared to the new stuff.

    I'd up the ram to 4 gigs.

    :dunno:
     
  5. mdisen

    mdisen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I had a similar problem, it's all processor. TF2 is a processor intense game. Got a Intel 2.8ghz Dual Core, up from a 2.4 and it runs fine now.
     
  6. nabechu

    nabechu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    21,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    The P4 is the problem
     
  7. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    yea I have a feeling it's my processor, sucks that it just started happening. maybe a spyware check
     
  8. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    get a new computer :ugh:
     
  9. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I went with the xbox instead :fawk:
     
  10. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    give up superior pc gaming for shitty casual console experience





    lose your dignity :ugh2:
     
  11. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    return to console after years



    enjoy the simplicity
     
  12. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    still blow fools up in laggy tf2
     
  13. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :rofl:
     
  14. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  15. EscapingJail

    EscapingJail Playing To Win

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE OFFTOPIC GOLD™
    TF2 is one of the games where it has to be played on PC.

    Payload is just too good.

    360 version wont be good till they get the updates.
     
  16. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I normally wouldn't play any fps on the console, but im gonna make an exception for ghostbusters :o
     
  17. forgotmyname

    forgotmyname Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ghostbuster is a fps. Holy shit why does everything has to be a fps. :ugh:
     
  18. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    thought ghostbusters was third person?
     
  19. mdisen

    mdisen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Who cares, Ghostbusters is suppose to have an incredible physics engine only a PC-gamer can appreciate.
     
  20. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
  21. fakeyfakerson

    fakeyfakerson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was playing it on a slightly overclocked athlon 3500+ just fine at medium settings, along with a 7950gt and 1.5 gigs of ram before i upgraded.
     
  22. XaPU!M

    XaPU!M Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    18,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    My roommate found a config file the other day to run with TF2 that turns off all non-essential parts of the game. He gets 100+ FPS now (from it running slow ~15-20 FPS), though it kinda looks like crap. But he slowly would take things out of the config to see what difference it made, so now it looks ok and runs amazing.

    I'll try and find/post the link to the config file if I can find it.
     
  23. Mr J

    Mr J New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    55,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    i get between 7 and 20fps on my pc playing tf2 :rofl:

    athlon 3ghz
    1gb ram
    radeon 9800 pro
     
  24. Strife

    Strife Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    27,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    100+fps crew signing in.

    I set my fps_max to 100 though because 300 fps max fucks up pistol scripts, and not like it matters.

    Fuck playing TF2 on conLOLes though -_-

    Shit would be horrible. I can't imagine how bad I'd be with soldier on console vs PC. Seems like airshots would be near impossible.
     

Share This Page