Korean cell phones interest? LG,Samsung,Motorola etc

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mach-zero, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. mach-zero

    mach-zero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm living in the Seoul area and I noticed the cell phones here are pretty nice.
    I know they will work with Verizon back in the States, so I was thinking about buying
    one and taking it back. Something like the Motorola cdma razr that isnt available
    yet. The shops here differ in price so I think I can get a good deal on one.
    I also saw a new StarTAC 2004 on ebay, man that phone brings back memories

    Anyone think its a good idea?
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2005
  2. kungfuwoo

    kungfuwoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    61,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    no, they won't work with verizon if they are using Korea's network AFAIK. They're on a GSM based network there...
     
  3. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    Did you have this same convo with someone else? They have a GSM and CDMA network over Korea and Japan.
     
  4. mach-zero

    mach-zero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    AFAIK? I've heard of that, care to enlighten? As far as Japan goes, I was told that their phones under no circumstances can be actvated elsewhere in the world. So I never have considered buying one before.
     
  5. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.

    Nor can Korea's CDMA. They use a different band. Whatever Anycall's CDMA phones you bring over and were to add to a CDMA's carrier database, the most they will be is a paperweight.
     
  6. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    And Motorola is a Japanese company, not korean.
     
  7. xivera

    xivera Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah, about that... Motorola is a good old American company...
     
  8. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    You're right, I forgot.
     
  9. kungfuwoo

    kungfuwoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    61,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    I'm pretty sure they use WCDMA....which is 3g GSM. Their gsm phones don't work over here. But if they do use a form of CDMA, you're right, its a completely different frequency. I don't think I've had an discussion on CDMA and WCDMA here before, only about carriers like vodafone.

    AFAIK = as far as i know
     
  10. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,226
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    I find myself in America.

    They have a CDMA network. They use alot of shit over asia.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2005

Share This Page