keyboard error

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The Great Deceiver, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EDIT: It worked! Thanks for the help



    I get a keyboard error on boot, it's a PS2 keyboard, I tried plugging it in the different ports using this [​IMG], I tried all the USB ports, even a different keyboard. I even unplugged the keyboard altogether. Nevertheless I still get 'Keyboard error'. USB mouse works fine...

    This all happened about one day after I changed the ethernet card (old one wasn't working), and removed the old 56k modem, and used a different pci slot for the new ethernet card (it's actually from a 1998-1999 micron). This got the internet working much better than ever before. Keyboard was still working then. It worked for a day then BOOM keyboard error.





    What should I try next?
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2008
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Keyboard error or keyboard missing? What if you don't even plug in the keyboard?
     
  3. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Still keyboard error and NOT keyboard missing.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm thinking the keyboard is dead.
    You're getting the same error whether it's plugged in or not, because to the pc it's the same difference.

    Try another keyboard, I bet it will work.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    check for any device conflicts in device manager
    removing the modem and installing the ethernet card could fucked up your IRQs

    if you can enter BIOS, try switching USB keyboard support to BIOS than OS
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, keyboard is likely dead.... Get a new one.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota

     
  8. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I can't log in because it needs a password :hs:
     
  9. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    And I can't access BIOS because I can't hit the F2 when it asks or whatever key I have to hit because the keyboard won't respond
     
  10. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'll see if I can boot with the Windows CD
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    you said you tried a different keyboard,.. is that one also PS/2 + adapter or native USB?
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Personally I think it's the PS2 port telling the BIOS whatever is plugged into it is fucked up. Even when there's nothing plugged in.

    Sounds silly but I'd take some compressed air to the box and make sure there's nothing obviously wrong.
     
  13. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ps2+adapter
     
  14. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Is that some kind of idiom or am I supposed to blow the dust inside the tower using a dust blower?
     
  15. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Compressed air? You've never seen a can of compressed air to blow out all the dust bunnies?
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok, so I missed that ya shithead.

    :mamoru:
     
  17. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I opened the tower, and I used a leaf blower to blow it, massive amounts of dust came out. Turned it on and what do you know, it worked! Thanks a lot guys.
     

Share This Page