Just upgraded internet to 12mbps. My wireless speeds haven't changed, though?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bojangles6, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Install Dr. TCP (http://www.dslreports.com/drtcp) and change your receive window size on your wireless adapter to a larger value (I changed mine to a value above 100,000). I had this exact same problem and increasing the RWS in the Windows TCP/IP stack cleared it right up.
     
  3. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet. Thanks, dude. Checking it out now.
     
  4. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I would love to do this, but I do not think my brother would let me since he router is in his room connected to his computer. Our internet was bumped to 12MB to but I still can only play games and what not at the same ms as before.
     
  5. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't done it yet but I will in a few mins. I also checked out the properties on my wireless connection and it says 11mbps. Is there anyway I could boost that up higher? Because I'm getting 12mbps+ ... Hooked up to a cable I've gotten like 16mbps speeds.
     
  6. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    If the devices on your network are strictly 802.11g, then set your router to g-only mode. If there are 802.11b devices on your network, running the router in b+g mixed mode will cause all your 11g devices to run at the slower 11b speed.
     
  7. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running vista, btw. The TCP Dr. didn't do the trick :(. Like I said, through a cable it performs like a beast, but wirelessly it's like a 5/6mbps speed. I appreciate all the help, guys. This shit is seriously erking me.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I never knew about this tool before. Adding to collection...
     
  9. Rivehn

    Rivehn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    reset the router to factory defaults.

    check your connection speed before you setup the security.
     

Share This Page