Just the facts ma'am

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Sgt. Friday, Feb 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sgt. Friday

Sgt. Friday Guest

The gf and I joined the gym together in the beginning of February. She's been training for 2 years and I'm just getting into it. I wasn't sure I was going to last this long but I'm starting to gain a little interest in it.

I've been going 4 days a week around 5pm after work. I've been seeing a bunch of guys primarily doing the same thing so I have been taking notes and making my own routine based on what I've been reading, seeing and experimenting with.

I'm not really concerned with how I look, although I'm considered "skinny" (5'11 160lbs) I just want to get strong and I think a biproduct of strength will be muscle. I'm currently learning how to deadlift and i've been working on my squat form as well. I'm really not concerned with what weight I'm using right now, I want to get used to how its performed. I come from an ice hockey background and the only training they insisted on what cardiovascular and a lot of ab work.

so today I did the following:

height: 5'11
    weight: 162lbs

free weight squats
    set 1: 135lbs/10 reps
    set 2: 135/10
    set 3: 155/10
    set 4: 155/10
    set 5: 185/3

standing lunges, alternating legs
    set 1: just the bar/20
    set 2: 95lbs/15
    set 3: 95/15
    set 4: 105/12

leg extensions on machine
    3 sets of 15 with the pin at 85lbs

leg curls on machine
    3 sets of 15 with the pin at 110lbs

cool down of 25 minutes on the bike. ​

I want a heavy deadlift, so my goal is to be doing 600lbs on deadlift by June '10. I'll be continuing to record my progress by video. I'm so addicted to this exercise.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2009
  2. Sgt. Friday

Sgt. Friday Guest

Chest Exercises

So my legs are still a little sore from the other day so I couldn't do deadlifts today, I decided to do a little chest work instead.

Flat Bench Press