SRS Just Quit

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by jujai1, Jul 29, 2004.

1. jujai1

jujai1 New Member

so i just quit taking ecstasy. i know it's not physically addictive but mentally, it's a different story. i've been rolling for 4 years so it's hard to break the habit. my body does not want anymore but my mind does not want to stop. i am so tempted to start again but i've been strong.

2. nukegoat

nukegoat New Member

Around my circles, we have a saying... "sick and tired of being sick and tired." It sounds like you've decided to change some things about your life. You may have not hit the worst bottom possible, but they say you hit bottom when you stop digging. NA is strong nation-wide (and even world-wide!) I highly recommend you hit up a meeting. If you have any questions about meetings or anything, feel free to ask. They are truly the oasis of hope amidst the depression, despair, and destruction that we can do to ourselves.

Best of luck :)

3. jujai1

jujai1 New Member

i thought about going to some NA meetings but i dont want anybody to know of my problems except my close friends. being shy doesn't help either. i'm in san antonio,tx. you know of any NA meetings here?

4. eligh

eligh Go To A Meeting

I understand how you feel. I too was very shy at my first meeting, ask the nukegoat. Once I figured out everyone else there was like me, a lot of those feelings went away, and I felt at home after a few weeks of continued meeting attendance.

This is why Anonymity is the spiritual foundation of all our traditions, what is said in meetings stays in meetings. This means the only people who will know are other recovering addicts that go to NA, and don't worry about them thinking any less of you, recovering addicts are compassionate and understanding people. In addition, many of them have probably done crazier things, had just as many problems, and at one time were very shy about someone else knowing about their own problems as well.