Just put a rear sprocket on my Eliminator 125

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by AVengeance, Oct 9, 2009.

1. AVengeance

AVengeance Active Member

Okay, so my WIFE's Eliminator, not mine. She named it "Silver" (you guessed it, it's silver). Personally, I wanted to call it "Sliver" since it's so tiny. We do think alike, though. Awwweee...

So, anyway, she got kinda nervous about the top speed being about 65mph. Not that she wants to drive it fast, but wants to know that the bike CAN do a little more if it needs to. I put a windscreen on it, which seems to have helped aerodynamic drag a little, and will be doing a little more in that regard. I decided to go ahead and try putting on a rear sprocket myself, even though I have very little experience working with motorcycles :noes:. I can R&R a racecar engine, and can do pretty much anything else automotive, so long as I have the tools to do it, but was admittedly a little nervous about messing with the rear (drum) brake, chain, etc. Old sprocket is 46T, this one's 42.

Turns out it was no big deal. Easy job, just follow the steps in the FSM. The install instructions were completely stupid and lacking in detail, so I just pretty much reversed removal instructions to put it back together. Easy job, just make sure things are torqued correctly, pins back in bolts with retaining pins, etc.

Cliffs: don't be all :noes: about pulling the rear wheel to swap a chain, change a sprocket, etc. If you've got the aptitude, you can do it.

I also made a different brake torque link (piece that goes from the brake to the chassis). The OEM one was 3/16" thick steel, and I replaced it with one made from 1/4" thick aluminum, with a few holes drilled for light weight. It's both lighter and stronger than OE, and will never rust.

Work took about 2hr., including fabricating the aftermarket torque link.

2. GammaRadiation

GammaRadiation Active Member