WEB just ordered a new ad server, old one was crazy old, from 05. plus new facebook terms

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by thomor25, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    so I ordered a new one from liquidweb. This past week I had so much traffic come through my ad server I gotta upgrade. my weekly wire can buy a new vette its crazy, lets hope this keeps up. Facebook just went through and wiped out all the grant ads so there goes trying that.

    Downside is staying up this late to transfer accounts cause your server you are using can't go down and you are transfering from a live server. ugh pain in the ass.
     
  2. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    there is NOTHING worse than server moves. hopefully it went well broseph.


    At least your night wasn't ruined by your BB getting blown up with these:

    rinse and repeat a few hundred times.
     
  3. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    fuck me did the whole array go or just one drive? hot swappable? raid 5 or 10 or 50?
     
  4. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    50, one drive. 6 are hotswappable, 2 are mounted UNDER the hotswap cages in the rackmount case. Of course this is one of the 2 mounted in the bottom..


    ..and it's a production server. Woo! Gotta love downtime.
     
  5. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    oh and try exporting a 160mb sql db from phpmyadmin while clicks are coming in from myspace and because the server is so old and has ide drives that bitch is freezing mysql as a whole so that shit isn't redirecting. Worse part is tracking was down so I don't know exactly how much money I spent/made in the wee hours of the morning. I had to go in and just tar the actual sql directory move it over to the new server untar it and then point the old server to the new server for sql. Now its just enter in the ips and shit and wait for it to propagate.
     
  6. pkr

    pkr Guest

    Big butt? :naughty:
     
  7. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    wasn't your server hosted on your cable modem?
     
  8. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    no I have servers at my house but they aren't used for hosting. I have servers in datacenters for that.
     
  9. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    or blackberry.

    but nice effort. :kdubb:
     
  10. upparoom

    upparoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    94,030
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Houston
    why are you using myadmin

    if you control the server, just copy over the database
     
  11. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    thats what I ended up doing, I didn't know the db was that large
     
  12. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    mysqldump broseppi.
     

Share This Page