Just got Time Capsule

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jackback52, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    overall, the setup is easy and I started my backup about 2 hours ago. So far, using an ethernet cable, its backuped about 50 of 266 Gigs. That includes home folder and my Apple TV Movie drive.

    You can password protect your backups.

    Hopefully it will be done tonite.

    if anything happens I'll let everyone know.
     
  2. Matt550

    Matt550 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton Colorado
    Id love to get one, just cant afford it right now. Do you like it so far?
     
  3. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't forget to turn off the items you don't want backed up...I made that mistake and it started backing up all kinds of crap I don't care if I lose.
     
  4. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    I did.
     
  5. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    update, it runs HOT!!!

    Apple TV Hot! I'm at 81 gigs.
     
  6. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    its taking that long with gigabit ethernet?
     
  7. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest


    its at 146 Gigs

    once the first big dump is over i guess it all smooth sailing from there.
     
  8. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow... thats not exciting.... i guess ill just leave it doing the initial overnight
     
  9. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    Yea i read the review on en gadget. If you already have an airport extreme minuls whale stick with it and get a external to run ur backups
     
  10. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    alright, last nite it took 8 hours to transfer over 183 gigs of data. today, I'm transfering via 802.11G. I started last nite at 11:50 and as of 8:30 it has about 53 gigs done. overall it works as stated, the router does run hot while in use I think the hard drive makes more noise then my Seagate drive inside my G5 iMac.
     
  11. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    So this time capsule is basically an external hard drive that uses the time machine software to back up? But it can be networked?
     
  12. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    any mac or PC can see the drive inside. I gonna store my FTV girls folder in there for easy:wackit: access
     
  13. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Yeah it's like connecting a hard drive to the Airport Extreme but has a couple added features.
     
  14. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are you using for backups then? i thought time machine would only work wired without time capsule.
     
  15. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    the intent of the time capsule is so that it will work wirelessly
     
  16. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    obviously
     
  17. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, TM will only back up to an external HD but can do it wired or wirelessly.
     
  18. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can you do it wirelessly without time capusle?
     
  19. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    You have to mount the volume and then set it as the Time Machine volume. You will need to mount the volume every time you restart. You may want to write a script to do this at start-up. It works but isn't as nice and easy as Time Capsule.
     
  20. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    ok, so I finally finished with the time machine sync via 802.11 G last night at 11pm so it took about 24 hours to do 190GB sync. overall I like the Time Capsule and its ease of use and connivence of backing up with time machine. The backups after the first sync seem to be fast and don't mess with your internet connection.

    the 1TB model has a Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 HDS721010KLA33
    people are reporting that the 500GB has a Seagate Barracuda ES SATA drive

    the only down sides I come across have been drops in the connection to the drive itself when accessing the Time capsule as a regular old external and the drive seems to keep spinning (getting hot) if you don't eject it when your done accessing it as an external.

    I like and its a step up for me. the last backp device I used was the .mac program backup.
     

Share This Page