Just bought Leopard and an Airport Extreme: observations

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jonny Chimpo, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,756
    Likes Received:
    376
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    1. Apple packaging really is ridiculously over engineered (but cool)
    2. The power cable for the Airport Extreme is about 10' long. Seriously. WTF???
    3. Airport Extreme and Comcast HSI really don't like each other.
    4. Comcast cable modem must be unplugged for 5 minutes to reset so it works with Airport :madfawk:
    5. Leopard installation didn't mount my iMac G5 internal HD automatically
    6. The Leopard DVD consistency check takes WAY too fucking long *skip*
    7. The Leopard installation also takes WAY too fucking long.
    8. Still waiting for the install to finish.
    9. Speedtest.net shows a 5000kbps improvement in speed with the Airport Extreme over my old Netgear router :eek3::cool:
    10. STILL waiting for Leopard to finish installing.....

    To be continued.
     
  2. Emanon

    Emanon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    While the AEBS is pricey it does perform well.
     
  3. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,744
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you have an external hd, I would make an install image of Leopard on the HD for faster future installs :dunno:
     
  4. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,756
    Likes Received:
    376
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    :werd:

    My throughput is fucking :eek4::eek4::eek4::bowdown: now.
     
  5. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,756
    Likes Received:
    376
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    the Leopard install took about 40 minutes total to complete on my 2.1GHz/1.5Gb G5 iMac. Fortunately it's the only Mac I need to install the OS on so it's no big deal.

    Overall, Leopard isn't bad, but it definitely isn't the second coming of Jesus. It just seems like a much more refined version of Tiger rather than a totally new OS. I'm sure it's much more refined under the hood, but the UI isn't dramatically different.

    One annoyance out of the box is that there isn't a dock preference setting to make it 2D instead of that ugly 3D crap. You have to use terminal to set it manually. :ugh: I'm damn glad that the graphics are finally consistent too. no more random brushed metal.
     
  6. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    Most routers + other access points usually require a hard reset to reassign IPs...I don't believe it's just the AE. When oyu get Leopard installed, you should notice a substnatial speed increase in browsing now that DNS is routed through dir services :o
     
  7. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    wireless hard-drive for the win
     
  8. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,756
    Likes Received:
    376
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    I tried that out today and it sucked ass, actually.

    The AEBS kept dumping the WiFi network and file transfers timed out. I was trying to copy a file from a WinXP lappie to my iMac via the Airport drive and it just wasn't happy. I guess I need to replace the laptop with an MBP. :mamoru::madfawk:
     
  9. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,756
    Likes Received:
    376
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    :werd:

    Like I said before, my download speeds went up substantially, actually. Via ethernet on WinXP, the speed increased about 50%:

    [​IMG]
    (was about 10000kbps average)

    And on WiFi on my G5 iMac w/Leopard, it increased 200-300%:

    [​IMG]
    (was about 2700kbps average)

    :cool:
     
  10. Emanon

    Emanon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    The firmware that is out right now SUCKS ASS for Airdisk. Many think that is why they dumped the support for Time Machine and when they get the new firmware out we will see official Airdisk and Time Machine support.

    I also noticed when I had an Airdisk plugged in it hurt my wireless speeds. How the hell it did that you got me. Unplugged it and my upstairs PC went from 54 to 130. Plugged it back in and went back down.
     
  11. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,756
    Likes Received:
    376
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    well that sucks. I hope it gets sorted quickly because the feature could be REALLY useful.
     
  12. Emanon

    Emanon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Yeah it is shocking that they didn't get it fixed before Leopard launched as the Airdisk makes a perfect match for Time Machine and notebooks. I'm sure it won't be too much longer now as people have gotten pretty loud about wanting it fixed.
     

Share This Page