SRS July 11th = 1 year sober.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Two toys, Jun 28, 2006.

1. Two toys

Two toys New Member

july 11th was the day I decided to give up alcohol, but technically july 4th/5th was the last time I drank.

Just trying to figure out something to do to celebrate, any ideas? being a poor college student I cant afford much.

2. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

Congrats on 1 year!!

To celebrate...hmm...anything but drinking. :)

I actually treat myself to a good meal (something I haven't had in awhile or something I can't really afford...like steaks or w/e). Then I hit a meeting, get a chip then go for coffee and/or a movie afterwards. IMO one of the best things about birthdays is just enjoying being around other drunks in recovery and sharing your experiencs. I love birthdays.

3. Two toys

Two toys New Member

oh, I never went to any meetings or anything. It was just a concious decision to quit drinking because when I did drink I didnt know how to stop, yet I only drank maybe twice a month. I just saw that if I continued on the path I was taking I would turn into an alcoholic so I jumped ship.

and thank you :)

I mite go out for some sushi. not sure though, I'd really like to do something more extreme haha.

4. Coottie

wow...I never was able to make it beyond the 4 month mark on my own. I was just too miserable.

Congrats on making it a year on your own. I wish I would have been able to do that and remaind happy....i just couldn't.

5. Two toys

Two toys New Member

It would have been nice to have some support, but I'm pretty strong willed, and I didnt let my addiction get far enough to the point where i couldnt turn down a drink. I go out to bars all the time with my schoolmates and I'll have an iced tea or lemonade, I just wish they treated me a little bit more as an equal. I'd like to meet more people who dont drink, but I never really thought I'd have much to say at a meeting.

6. Coottie