MIL Joining the Reserves

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by egxflash, Oct 5, 2005.

1. egxflash

egxflash Riding on the Midship Express

I am 20 and currently hold a well paying job at a well established corporation with a lot of opportunity for advancement. I have my HS diploma and is currently at a JC, waiting to transfer in a year or so to Cal State Long Beach for their criminal justice program. My goal is to kinda see where my current job path will take me but mainly, what I want is to get into law enforcement.

Being in the military is just something Ive always wanted to do and I almost joined a while back if it hadnt been for my residency papers. Well, all of that is sorted out now.

I dont really care to join active duty because I currently live with my disabled grandmother (who raised me ever since I was a little baby) and she doesnt really have anybody else to depend on if I were to be gone for a whole 4 years. Also, I want to test the waters with my current job.

I looked into the Army Reserves and the Marine reserves and I got plenty of information from the recruiter but I wanted to see what your guys' opinions are on the matter.

2. pakman

pakman New Member

Have you looked into the Army National Guard? Honestly, if I were in your position, I'd look into an intel MOS (96X). With that kind of military experience, you'd have a better chance with promotions in law enforcement, and possibly move on to a federal job later on. You just have to make sure you can get a security clearance.

3. egxflash

thats the thing that everybody over there told me. Being just a resident right now (citizenship is pending) might not grant me the clearance to even be an MP. The army girl said I could cross reference later on at my unit and get going on that, so I dont really think theyd ok me to go into Intel.