SRS *Job drama, advice needed*

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by blackgrrl23, Mar 29, 2006.

1. blackgrrl23

blackgrrl23 If the game ain't money, then I ain't playing.

will try to make this as short as possible.

I am a government contractor for a well-known federal agency. I have only been working there for 2 months now. Last week, a fellow co-worker got fired because "They had to replace her job with a federal employee and that person has to start monday". Turns out there was no person lined up to start her position monday, that was just a lie to get her out of there (when she has done nothing wrong!) Well they passed her duties over to me. Now I am doing 2 jobs while still getting paid my same rate while *I* am handling setting up interviews for the Federal position. Now I have been told my my in-house supervisor I have a shot at the Fed position, but should I even go for it? I understand if you go Fed from a contractor, you lose some pay, but you gain benefits and job security. Also, what happens if I work the 3-6 weeks "as a favor" and I *don't* get the position? They will have worked me on 2 jobs for "free"!! I can handle the workload, and I have asked my agency for a raise (at least until the permanent person is hired) and I have have heard there is no chance for a raise unless I get hired perm by the Feds. My co-worker (at my level) warned me the office I am in is an "If we like you we keep you If not...." type of office. She is looking for another job herself and is on the verge of leaving. :ugh2:

What should I do, y'all. I have a shot at a great career, but at this point I am feeling used :wtc:

Help me decide...I have other job contacts should this go south but I need to know for certain soon...I need to move soon and obviously need a job for this :noes:

EDIT: The pay is fairly decent, but there are no medical benefits either if that helps people to help me make a decision...:o

2. crashspeeder

crashspeeder Interesting Title