Job Dilema - Am I being unreasonable?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Coottie, Dec 21, 2007.

1. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

Background: graduated in May with CS degree and really high grades. I've also got 10 years of business experience (non-programming) where I was an officer for an oil company...not a big one...more small/med sized. This was before I went back to school.

So, about 2 months ago, I started a new job as an Application Developer with a software company here in OKC. They have me learning their process from the ground up and I am supporting batch processing jobs.....not programming per se but I will have some.

They told me about these batch jobs but said I'd also get to do a lot of programming with it. However, it's not looking like I'll be doing much programming because after I accepted the job, but before I started working there, they actually hired another guy as an App Dev also. He's now getting all the programming assignments and I'm not getting shit.

So I'm kinda pissed but I also understand....he's got more XP than I do but he's not an OOP programmer. He came from the VB6 world. I however, learned all about OOP and did a lot of it in school.

Am I making more out of this than I should?? Is it unreasonable for me to expect to get more programming assignments so soon after graduating?? I mean I built 3 different website projects while in school, all of them DB driven and 2 of them were very complex. The other noob hasn't done any of that...he's been supporting a desktop accounting application.

I'm not sure if I should look for another job or not. The company, co-workers and pay are all about middle of the road. Not great but not shit either. Am I expecting too much too quickly??

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

not sure what to tell ya man. I tried corporate america for a while and it pissed me off. I'm happier on my own.

3. Dnepr

Dnepr Guest