SRS JET Program decisions...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by RogerThat, Sep 30, 2008.

1. RogerThat

RogerThat New Member

Ok, so I don't post here much but I have a topic that has been twirling in my mind for awhile. Maybe some of you have some experience or even just some insight. I am a 5th year business student at university, and will be graduating in May if all goes well. I have been thinking about doing the JET program and leaving as soon as I graduate.

For those of you that don't know, the JET program is a program that you sign up for and if accepted, you go live in Japan for a year and teach conversational english to middle schools/high schools. The pay is about 33-40k a year. It's a pretty sweet deal if you ask me...international experience for when I get a job back in America, an awesome opportunity, and hell....the pay isn't bad for being 23 and right out of college.

I also have a girlfriend, so I'd have to break it to her if I went. That would suck..but I'm not married. I guess my question is...does anyone have any experience with the JET program or has anyone heard good/bad things? Also, overall, should I do it? Should I just tell my GF, pack up my shit, and go to Japan for a year and make some cash? Or stay here...find a job...etc. etc.

Thank you! I look forward to your responses.

2. Lucky Penny

Lucky Penny Mr. cut me some slack cause I don't wanna go back,

You'll probably like this: http://www.gaijinsmash.net/archives.phtml

I've been following his blog for a while- he was part of the JET program and that's what his blog is about. It's an exceptionally fun read. The blog started out as the "I'm a Japaneses school teacher" blog on outpost nine, but he moved it here. anyway, Its 3+ years of Blog about JET, should give you some good info :big grin:

3. RogerThat

RogerThat New Member

Sweet. Reading now..thank you!

4. Lucky Penny

Lucky Penny Mr. cut me some slack cause I don't wanna go back,

5. phrxn

phrxn New Member