jeff's bjj log

Discussion in 'MMA Training Logs' started by jeffreyliu838, Oct 18, 2009.

1. jeffreyliu838

jeffreyliu838 New Member

http://stopchokingme.blogspot.com/2009/10/ive-been-doing-bjj-for-almost-3-months.html

If any of you use that site, you can subscribe. Otherwise, I'll be copy and pasting from the blog to here.

I've been doing bjj for almost 3 months, and today was a good day.

We did a bunch of triangle and armbar counters to guard passes. We also did a "self defense" move where you break the wrist of a guy trying to choke you. I think learning that stuff is lame since you can't use it when you roll.

I managed to get a crazy sweep when going live today. I dunno what it's called, but it's similar to the tomoe nage throw, and it's when you have guard, the guy stands up, you plant your feet on his hips, you throw him over your head, and land in mount. Pretty much made my day (or year). If you know the name of that sweep feel free to tell me.

I also got a pendulum sweep from a failed armbar, but that's not as cool.

We have promotion every six months, and the next date is November seventh. Hopefully I'll get a stripe.

2. adrenalin112

adrenalin112 New Member

3. jeffreyliu838

jeffreyliu838 New Member

Lols. It was kinda sloppy though. Not as pendulummy as it should've been, cause he wasn't really driving really hard into me.

Yesterday , Monday, we did triangle and armbar counters again, but this time, I was paired with the new girl. I don't really mind drilling with girls or anything, but she was so timid and stuff, so I didn't feel right doing my thing. Got my ass whooped live. Got choked from half guard. Note to self: being mounted is better than being choked. I did manage to pass someone's guard though, so it's not a total loss.