java version "1.4.2_09"

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by clog, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    How the fucking christ do I make 1.5 default? I went to Utilities->Java->J2SE 5-> Java Preferences

    and under the General tab, I made sure to have J2SE 5.0 under "Use Version: " Also, below that, under Run Time settings, I made sure that J2SE 5 is aboe 1.4.x.

    I am in Tiger with the latest bullshit updates. WTF am I doing wrong here? My shit compiles perfectly from DrJava, since it uses that 1.5.x compiler, but when I try to compile in the Terminal, some of the newer shit just won't have it. Apparently, Terminal is still looking @ 1.4.x :greddy:

    Anyone have any clues? kthx
     
  2. What errors do you get? Are you using javac?
     
  3. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    yes, I am using javac to compile in Terminal.

    I am trying to import java.util.Scanner;

    And it simply does not exist in 1.4.x, which is what my Terminal still defaults to for some reason (I know this bc I type "java -version" in the terminal and it returns whatever I put in the thread title). Also, when I import that method in DrJava, it has no problem compiling and runing it. Help?
     
  4. See that your javac in /usr/bin points to the correct version. Mine is a symlink pointing to /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.4.2/Commands/javac.
     
  5. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Thanks! I'll check as soon as I get home :)
     
  6. fifty50

    fifty50 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    i had the same problem. you have to point it to 1.5
     
  7. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    ok I must be fucking retarded... :ugh: how the fuck do I get to /usr/bin (where javac is?). I found the javac I want (/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.5.0/Commands/javac). :hs:
     
  8. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Nevermind :hsugh: I found hte answer on some other forum

    :hsd:
     

Share This Page