java program without console

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Corp, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I'm making a quick timekeeping program for my father's store, basically a digital version of a timecard. I'm writing it in java because it's really easy to do gui's in java, and it's what I know best. what i want to know is, is there any way to run a java program without the command prompt opening? It's not a big deal, but I would just like to make it so it's a one window program, as close to an exe as possible. I already made a bat file that will run it, so he doesn't have to go to the console and type in the command to run it.
    thanks :bigthumb:
     
  2. Doneranator

    Doneranator New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about building your script in to an local HTML page then have it dump in to your back end files.
     
  3. HardTech

    HardTech hungry

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    28,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NorCal
    try C#. Syntax is pretty much Java
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I think you should be able to just create a shortcut with whatever you would type on the commandline to run the program as its target.

    Just a guess, though, I don't use Windows.
     
  5. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    the problem there is i don't even know what that means :o

    i've actually wanted to try out c# for a while, maybe this is a good excuse

    i'll try that, thanks
     
  6. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you don't want Java to open a command prompt window, use the javaw program when you create your shotcut instead of java.
     
  7. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    awesome, thanks :coold:
     

Share This Page