Java newbie here............need help !

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Nuttycrack, Oct 11, 2004.

1. Nuttycrack

Nuttycrack New Member

Hi

i am doing an assignment and i have a lot of trouble on writing methods ........

here is the part that i am having trouble on

isOlder(FamilyMember)

Return true if this family member is older than the given family member, false otherwise. In this case, 'older' simply means that one person's age is strictly greater than the other, and is not related to one's birth day or birth month.

areSameAge(FamilyMember,
    FamilyMember)

Static method. Return true if the two people represented by the given FamilyMember objects have the same age, false otherwise. Again, only use the age of the family members in your comparison, not the birthdays.

areRelated(FamilyMember,
    FamilyMember)

Static method. Return true if the two people represented by the given FamilyMember objects have the same last name, false otherwise. For this method, capitalization is not important (i.e. "Grease" and "grease" are the same last name).

isBrother(FamilyMember)

Return true if this family member is the brother of the given family member, false otherwise. In this family, a guy is still called your brother even if you only have one parent in common. (i.e. no stepbrothers)

isSister(FamilyMember)

Return true if this family member is the sister of the given family member, false otherwise. As stated above, a girl is still called your sister even if you only have one parent in common. (i.e. no stepsisters)

areSiblings(FamilyMember,
    FamilyMember)

Static method. Return true if the two people represented by the given FamilyMember objects are siblings, false otherwise.

isMother(FamilyMember)

Return true if this family member is the mother of the given family member, false otherwise.

isFather(FamilyMember)

Return true if this family member is the father of the given family member, false otherwise.

isParent(FamilyMember)