Java and JS masters please help me.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheHerald, Jun 12, 2003.

  1. TheHerald

    TheHerald Guest

    I am working webdesign on my schools website, and i have created a new one. www.ssw.uga.edu/52203/

    What i am trying to do, is move the red nav bar from the top of the pictures to thebottom. That is easily done. BUt

    I cannot find a way to make the nagivation overlap the bottom frame. Is there anyway to do that? Check my html if you like. I can find no way to make my menus overlap the bottom frame. and if i leave enough room for them. I have a massive amount of large space.

    I temporarily solved the problem by moving the bar on top of the pictures, but my boss doesnt like it. Please give me any tips, or point me in the right direction. Thanks a lot.
     
  2. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    solution: frames suck :fawk:
     
  3. TheHerald

    TheHerald Guest

    Well, im sure as hell not going to paste that code on every page. That would at least triple the size of the html, and make editing a pain in the ass. That is how it used to be. I am moving on to bigger and better things.

    But thanks for the help
     
  4. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Drop the frame like crotchfruit said.... Professional designers use includes for code reuse on multiple pages...
     
  5. TheHerald

    TheHerald Guest

    Yes, how do i use includes :) got a good web tutorial for me?
     
  6. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Are you using Apache?
     
  7. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Well, I don't use Linux/Apache like that site is run on... But you can either change all the file extensions to .shtml and use
    Code:
    <!--#include file="topmenu.html" -->
    
    in your HTML file or you can set the XBitHack as described here --> http://httpd.apache.org/docs/howto/ssi.html

    It also seems like you have PHP available. That might make it easier to change them all to PHP files and then use
    Code:
    include ("topmenu.html"); 
    
    topmenu.html would include all the HTML menu code that will be inserted in the calling file at the point where you have the includes.

    Of course, if you don't want to use any of that, you could learn how to use regular expressions properly with a good text editor. That would allow you to make changes to all the files at the same time without manually copying and pasting... Some people would rather do this than have the server parse every HTML file being requested for SSIs... However, I can't imagine this site having enough traffic to make any difference.
     
  8. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i wonder how professional web designers do it, do they just include the menu with ssi instead of putting it on each page? or some other way?
     
  9. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    oh yea and friends dont let friends use frames :fawk:
     
  10. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Includes...
     
  11. TheHerald

    TheHerald Guest

    Thanks for your help, ill try the includes
     
  12. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    well what kind of includes? SSI? php? jsp? asp?
     
  13. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Obviously that depends on what technologies you're using.
     
  14. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    :rofl: next time, be like "for php, i prefer the jsp syntax."
     
  15. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :rofl: :bigthumb:
     
  16. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    well it's just that i heard that SSI is better not be used, so i was wondering if programmers prefered language includes over SSI or the other way around
     
  17. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I personally always go with language includes.
     
  18. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    same. just incase the apache server doesnt have SSI installed.
     
  19. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Lots of pages these days also do it by creating separate content pages and then including them in a template that has the menus on it rather than icluding the menus on each page.
     

Share This Page