A&P I've had the D80 a year longer than the D300

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Girth, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    and the D300 has 400 less shutter activations than the D80. I :love: my D300. :hs:
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i have 12k on my d50 in 1.75 years
    i have 16k on my d300 in .5 years :noes:
     
  3. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    17800 on D80
    17400 on D300

    :hs:
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    like 8k of mine are from the 5 football games I shot this season :wtc:

    good thing this shutter is rated to like 150,000 :bowdown:
     
  5. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    my buddy has 500,000+ on his 20d and its still going like a champ... yes, Canon. :eek3:
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    holy shit :eek3:

    I think they are only like 150-200 to replace, so I said fuck it, I'll just beat mine to death and replace it if it needs it, better than missing important moments because I'm scared of breaking my shutter :ugh:
     
  7. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    jesus christ
    I sold mine with about 40K I think
     
  8. Bloody Sunday

    Bloody Sunday OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52,538
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    North County
    how do you check this?
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    google "opanda exif"

    or "canon 5d shutter count" (cept with your camera)
     
  10. Tedrzz

    Tedrzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    i tried downloading opanda exif and exif viewer and neither of them show the shutter count of my d200...anyone else have this trouble?
     
  11. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    I just looked mine up on CS3
     
  12. Tedrzz

    Tedrzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Where do you go to find it? File> File info> Advanced? It doesn't show up there either
     
  13. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    That's where I found it. :dunno:
     
  14. andy6789

    andy6789 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works with the D200 just scroll down on the list it is near the bottom.
     
  15. Essence

    Essence New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Dirty Souff
    lol, that is true. i wonder how much time that equals out to behind a camera? i bet weeks worth of hours, or months even :noes:
     
  16. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    He's had the 20d for about 5 years. These days, its the back up to the back up. His work horse is the 5D, and his back up is the 1D mkii. I'm sure he'd be ok if the 20d stopped working.
     

Share This Page