A&P I've decided on a Canon Powershot S2 IS - but some questions

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Alt+F4, Feb 18, 2006.

1. Alt+F4

Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

Hello all,

My wife is pregnant, so we're using that (and our tax refund) as an excuse to get a "real" camera. I've been shooting with a Kodak Easyshare (don't laugh) for about three years, but I'd really like to learn more about the hobby. I went back to school for accounting, and I have one elective open; just waiting for them to offer FAS 226 - Digital Photography :cool: Should be sometime this summer.

After a week or so of reading, and searching, and reading, and trying out at stores, and reading some more, I really like the Canon Powershot S2 IS. In searching through ebay, I have a choice of any number of packages, ranging from just the camera, all the way to a ton of shit that I don't know how to use.

My question is, what should I go for right now? I think a bag and an SD card is paramount, but is the other stuff really necessary? (Note, I've been on ebay for 8 years as a buyer and seller, and I haven't really looked into these vendors. I will before I buy. Just posting up ads to get your opinions)

Just the camera:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-PowerShot...591014206QQcategoryZ48539QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Camera plus two lenses, 2gb SD card, bag, tripod, etc:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-PowerShot...590700653QQcategoryZ48539QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Similar to previous, but only a 1gb card, but adds in 3 yr warranty:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-PowerShot...590329172QQcategoryZ48539QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks for all your help, and I look forward to learning from all of you. There are some great photographers here, and I've enjoyed reading your stories and viewing your pictures.

2. sony

sony Active Member

Just the camera.

3. mojito

mojito New Member

check dealsofamerica.com and slickdeals.net etc for good deals on memory cards. never buy an ebay package, they're always rip offs