WEB I've been on the fents but I am wagering that Yahoo's map API is > Google

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by biawokauns, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
  2. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    I just hate how google maps you geocode your address instead of just passing them an address.
     
  3. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    it's good habit to geocode all your shit anyways. making all the calls to the service slows it down dramatically :o
     
  4. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    :noes: never really thought about storing the geocoding information
     
  5. whomadewho

    whomadewho Ohhh FCN Ohhhhh FCN!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    20,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    it's easier to use
     
  6. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
  7. im gonna be making a few mashups with googlemaps myself. have you looked at modestmaps yet? i think it uses a combination of google and yahoo or something like that?

    but at least googlemaps has traffic. i'm going to be doing a mashup of real-time traffic as well as using the twitter api and geoRSS to post up twitters real-time on the map.

    that or maybe have people login and submit an address into a database and flash takes those values and spits overlay markers on the maps. might use this for cop sightings and known speedtraps :dunno:
     
  8. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    I just read http://www.coastrentals.com/tech/20...g-tutorial-with-the-google-maps-api-part-one/ and have geocoded all my address and stored them in the database.

    Now I've just got to tweak my scripts to use the lat,lngs i have stored instead of geocoding everytime
     
  9. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    modestmap is cool, but overkill for what we need :)

    there was an OTer who posted a speedtrap site which was pretty dope...dont remember the url though
     
  10. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    good shit.

    i just looked at the PHP and shuddred :rofl: I was making calls to Yahoo for each condo with their respective addresses, but the shit was noticeably slower :o After geocoding everything, shit was super snappy...now I'm using google on that site thoug


    Code:
    class Admin::CondosController < ApplicationController
      before_filter :admin_authenticate
      layout 'layouts/admin'
      
      def geocode
        @condos = Condo.find(:all)
        
        for condo in @condos
    	    unless condo.latitude.exists?
        	    location = YahooGeocoder.geocode("#{condo.address}, #{condo.zipcode}")  
        	  
        	    if location.success
        	      condo.latitude = location.lat
        	      condo.longitude = location.lng
        	      condo.save!
        	    end
        	end          
    	  end
    	  
    	  flash[:notice] = 'Geocoding complete. Check for any condos that may have timed out.'
    	  
      end
    end
    
    
     
  11. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    rails :hsd: im just picking it up for a project at work
     
  12. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    code that you can read is so :bowdown: :o
     
  13. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    im so use to using php that its almost harder to migrate to rails.
     
  14. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    once you do, you will NEVER look back
     
  15. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    does the yahoo maps allow route overlays?

    ie: i have address1 and address 2, and i want to show the driving route between the two?
     
  16. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    yes sir

    http://developer.yahoo.com/maps/
     
  17. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    that alone might make me want to switch.

    although i think google might of implemented it, i havent looked into maps since i put them on my site a few months ago
     
  18. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
  19. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
  20. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    i can't wait to mess around with it :bigthumb:
     
  21. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    i am writing a tutorial, it should go live tomorrow
     
  22. nice, looking forward to that.

    yeah rails is definitely quicker than PHP. can't wait to get into that.
     
  23. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    i just posted it, check my other thread
     
  24. google has route, marker, hotspot and custom marker overlays. you can also move and modify your route with the mouse and the API will update your driving directions accordingly.
     
  25. Vailripper

    Vailripper Daywalkers have feelings too.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA

Share This Page