iTunes music transfer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TNFlyBoy, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. TNFlyBoy

    TNFlyBoy F =/= ma?? wtf??

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    does anyone know a way to for me to transfer my music from my imac to my laptop? i've got a couple of thousand so emailing them is not an option
     
  2. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crossover cable.
     
  3. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    if its a mac laptop or has a firewire port firewire is teh way to go.
     
  4. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    firewire ftw!
     
  5. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    First d/l a program from versiontracker.com called ListSaver2.0 and run it on the computer w/the music. This will save all your playlists & eq settings in iTunes.

    Transfer the music over & run it again to rebuild it on the new computer.
     
  6. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Macs have had autosensing ethernet NICs for the last 4 or 5 years, you don't need a crossover cable. Any regular ethernet cable will do.

    Firewire target disk mode will probably be faster however.
     
  7. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting thanks.
     
  8. antiyou

    antiyou OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    in ur base
    so how do I transer from my powerbook to the g5 via fire wire
     
  9. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Have G5 turned on, connect FW cable from G5 to PB. Turn on PB while holding down "T".

    It'll show up as a FW drive on your G5's desktop.
     
  10. antiyou

    antiyou OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    in ur base
    :bigthumb:

    the character T on my powerbooks keyboard?
     
  11. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    If you haven't figured it out by now, yes.
     

Share This Page